I just don't get people sometimes. When the kids and I were in shelter in Wyandanch there were all kids of people on the streets constantly begging for money or rides or whatever and I always turned them down and walked away. I was living in a shelter and didn't really have any extra to give. Now I'm in my own home back in the same complex I lived in the last time the kids and I were in MO and, lately, I feel like I'm back in Wyandanch.
A neighbor lady keeps trying to get me to drive her to her job which isn't close and I keep turning her down. I gave her a ride once but I refuse to be used when she's already told me she has a bus pass. Ride the bus, lady. She's 36 and does odd jobs rather than getting something steady. Apparently she relies on neighbors and friends to drive her to and from wherever she needs to go and, from what she said, never gets the same ride twice. I can't imagine why.
Then I was outside talking to two of my neighbors today, two that I chat will occasionally, and I found out that there are other people in the complex that do similar things. One guy stops cars driving through and asks the driver for money for smokes, one lady knocks on doors asking people for money for smokes or diapers, and others knock on doors and ask for rides to and from the stores or the blood bank so they can sell their blood/plasma for a few bucks. Really? This never happened when we lived here the first time.
Maybe it's because we're so close to the highway this time, I don't know, but it's starting to make me sick. The two women I was talking to have both given something to someone occasionally be it a ride or some loose change but they're getting sick of it too because once they 'donate' to someone that same person keeps coming back asking for more; just like the lady asking me for rides all the time.
I understand that we live in subsidized housing and money is tight but come on. All of us live here because we don't have money and most of us are working on getting out of here but the ones that refuse to do anything to help themselves really get to me, and not in a sappy, teary-eyed, I-feel-so-bad-I-must-help-you way. The get to me in a really negative I-want-to-smack-the-crap-out-of-you way.
I'm trying to raise three kids with the part-time help of the kids' really unpleasant father and his two-faced girlfriend, and I work. I don't have time to be bothered driving your dumb ass back and forth to Kansas all the time because you don't want to walk up the block from your house and get a steady job at Burger King. You have an 18-yr-old son who lives in TN with his dad, you don't pay any child support, and you live in your apartment alone. Stop fucking whining to me that you don't have a way to get to your job painting for some lady who lives in downtown Kansas City. You have a bus pass, use it.
The dude who begs change for a pack of smokes needs to quit smoking if he can't pay for them and the lady who constantly needs diapers for her kid needs to get on the Metro and haul her ass up to the Salvation Army to get some. And all the other people who constantly ask me for smokes or loose change or to use my phone to make a phone call need to understand that I have a life too and supplying them with what they need is not on my scheduled list of things to do.
Yes, I understand that some people are worse off than I am, I'm not debating that. But if my neighbors and I can do what we need to do to get what we need for our kids and our homes without constantly begging from strangers on the street, those other people can too. I know I might sound crabby and judgmental right now but I can't help it. I'll help anyone who needs help even if I don't have much to give but when you try to take advantage of my good nature you're going to get an earful from me, no doubt.
My neighbors and I agreed today that we're going to stop helping these same people. Let them go ask someone else and eventually when they have nobody left to ask they might understand that they need to do more for themselves. It might sound sad to some of you, or even mean, but that's too bad. I have more important things to concentrate on and helping every stranger that knocks on my door isn't one of them.
Until next time...peace to all.
Where Have I Been?
-
It's hard to believe it's been so long since I've posted anything....but
that's how I roll. It's been about a year. So much has happened in a
year. Some...
11 years ago
