Thursday, October 30, 2014

People, Get Over It or Move On

I was sitting here messing around on the computer and came across a link posted on Facebook from a page called Laugh and Smile. The link is a small slide show of ten bad habits of men that women don't like. You can see it here: 10 Bad Habits Women Can't Stand

I was watching the slide show I was getting kind of annoyed that women are so nit-picky over some seriously minor 'offenses' while I was also wondering who exactly made up the list. Was it one woman writing the article all on her own, based on her own dislikes? Did the author take a random poll of 100 different women? Did the author simply question her closest friends? Regardless of the method used, and I can only speak for myself, most of these are complete crap.

Let's discuss them, shall we?

1. Not listening.
Ladies, are you always listening when someone talks to you? I doubt it, and if you said you are, you're not being honest. I don't think any of us are always listening to anyone 100% of the time. If you don't like it when your guy isn't listening to you, maybe you needed to pick a better time to talk to him. I'm pretty sure he gets annoyed when you're not listening to him, too, so you have nothing to complain about.

2. Toe nail clippings on the coffee table.
I've never met a man who clips his toe nails in the living room and then leaves the clippings on the table. I'm sure they exist, I just don't know of any. If he does leave the clippings there does it really take that much effort to either ask him to get rid of them or to grab a tissue and do it yourself? It's not like he shit on the table so stop overreacting. I'll bet he doesn't like finding the cotton balls you used as toe spacers when you painted your nails all over the table either but is he throwing a hissy fit? No, he isn't. 

3. Ogling women.
Yes, this one I'll agree with. It's really rude and disrespectful for a man to ogle other women when he's out with his wife/girlfriend. I don't like it and would never disrespect my mate/date that way. Men, stop it. If you feel the need to look at other women, especially when you're out with a woman, perhaps the woman you're with is not the one for you. And I don't want to hear "It's human nature for guys to look." That's bullshit and you know it. That's just an excuse you all use to make up for your inability to keep your eyes on your own woman. Again - STOP IT!!

4. Screaming during the game.
I scream during hockey games. I yell at the refs for not seeing a penalty, I yell at the players to pass to the open man, and I cheer out loud when a goal is scored. People who are excited about sports do a lot of yelling. Granted, I'm not into every sport. I've also been with guys who are into every sport. I've been the "sports widow". However, when they were watching their sports I was doing something else. Ladies, rather than complain about your guy yelling at the TV why don't you just find something else to do? If you want to watch the sport with him, deal with the yelling, it won't kill you.

5. Cursing in traffic.
Okay ladies, how many of you never get angry when you're driving? How many of you have never cursed at another driver for any reason whatsoever? None of you? That's what I thought. Gimme a break, okay? Your dude screams at another driver and you can't stand it? Stop! Just stop! Is it really that big of a deal? I don't think so. Get over it, you've done it, too.

6. Hands down their pants.
Another one I have yet to seen done by any guy, other than Al Bundy, of course. However, if your man wants to sit on the sofa, watching his game, TV show or whatever and is comfortable sitting with his hand in the waistband of his pants who are you to tell him to stop? Why is it any of your business? It's who he is and you picked him. Maybe he's not always fond of the fact that he has to smell the nail polish that you insist on using in the living room while he's trying to relax. Leave him alone, he's just being himself the same way you're being yourself.

7. Spitting.
Yes, spitting is gross. I can't stand it, I don't do it, I get on my sons when they do it. It's disgusting to walk down the sidewalk and almost step in the glob of mucus that someone decided to deposit there as they went that way a few minutes before. However, it's not only men who spit, I've seen quite a few women spit, too. So why doesn't everyone just stop spitting and we'll all be fine.

8. Not putting down the toilet seat.
This one really grates on my nerves, and not the way you think it does. I tell my boys to put down the toilet seat - when they're in a public place or at someone else's house. The only reason I tell them that is because other people don't like the seat being left up. However, in our house I don't have a hard and fast rule about it. It takes me very little effort to put the seat back down if one of the boys left it up. And please don't go into the bullshit about "But if I get out of bed at night to use the bathroom I'm at risk of falling in if he left the seat up." Blah, blah, blah... Really? Is it so dark in your bathroom at night that you can see absolutely nothing at all? Are you walking with your eyes closed? Seriously ladies, if you're so afraid of falling into the toilet at night IF you happen to get up to pee perhaps you need to turn on the light in the bathroom. It's an easy concept to handle. Flip the switch up, light goes on. Happy peeing.

9. Hogging the TV remote.
If your dude has to have complete and total control of the remote at all times and is not the type to negotiate or share, you need a different guy. No joke. I've learned that if any guy is that selfish, then he needs to be alone. If, on the other hand, you want to be with him because of his other good qualities then shut up about the remote. Everyone has flaws, including you.

10. Whiskers in the sink.
This one is really annoying to me because it tells me that women really are nit-picky brats. Ladies you want to complain about his whiskers in the sink but do you clean your hair out of the drain after you take a shower? Or off the shower walls for that matter? Do you clean up the fallout that's left on the floor after you brush your hair? I know that when I brush my hair I look at the floor and whatever fell out is there, strewn across the tile. I lean down, swipe my hand over the floor and throw the hairball in the garbage. How many of you do that? My guess is very few of you. Here's what you do: take a cup of water and rinse the sink free of the whiskers. If it won't rinse, take some tissue and wipe it clean. It's not like you're having to re-tile the bathroom. Jeez!!

Listen people, I have my pet peeves also. I hate dirty dishes left in the sink. I can't stand it when my kids leave their belongings all over the house. I really don't like having to constantly replace the empty toilet paper or refill the empty water pitcher. But guess what!! It's not the end of the world in my house when I don't get my way. Yes, sometimes I get really angry because my kids are ignoring me but it's not a deal breaker. I still love them and I always will. The men I've had in my life have had faults too but things like the ones on this list weren't the center of my universe.

If you're with a guy and things like this bother you, you need to work on you and stop trying to change him. Nobody in this world is perfect and until you are you have no right to complain about things that are so insignificant in the grand scheme of things. If you really can't take it, find a different guy. Otherwise shut up, live life, and be happy.

Until next time... peace to all.