Any of the kids who regularly come to my house know me and what I'm about. I'm a mom but I'm also a friend and I definitely act like a kid at times. No doubt about it. My son Zach tells me I have way too much fun with Snapchat filters. So it's funny to see the reactions of kids who aren't here on a regular basis because the family dynamic over here is out of control sometimes.
Just two weeks ago Zach had a couple of friends over, one of whom is here all the time, CJ, and another, Tyler, who'd maybe been here once or twice before. The boys were in the kitchen making sandwiches when Zach decided to start flinging wrapped cheese slices at everybody. I was sitting on the sofa, just outside the kitchen, and asked Zach to stop throwing cheese. He didn't because he's Zach.
When I asked him again he looked at me and said, "Give me attitude one more time" with a big smile on his face. I squinted my eyes at him, gave an angry face, and repeated myself. BAM!! A piece of cheese came flying at my head, which I deftly blocked so it landed on the chair next to me. I picked it up and flung it back at him. CJ continued making his sandwich amidst the Zach-mom banter because he's seen it before, but Tyler sat at the table staring.
A little while later he said, "My mom would never put up with this in our house. You guys are loud and crazy." It's not the first time I'd heard that either. On Zach's birthday last year a group of about eight boys started an impromptu food fight in my kitchen and living room with cake and ice cream. They ran around throwing food, my daughter and her friends in the living room ducked, and I took pictures. One of the boys said, "My mom would never let that happen."
So maybe I'm not a conventional mom, and that's okay. I set rules, I make sure homework gets done, and rooms are cleaned. But I also want to have some fun. As I explained to Tyler, I didn't have much of a childhood when I was growing up so I'm making up for it now. He just nodded as if he understood, but I'm not sure he really did. That's okay, though, if he hangs around enough he will.
My kids and I poke fun at each other and we take it in stride, we have foot races in stores and schools, we sing loudly in the car and bicker over who gets to pick the music. We get loud in the supermarket, in a fun way that makes people laugh, and we have the weirdest dinner conversations, some that would make people cringe. There are also times when the kids and their friends gang up on me, or they end up tossing me from my bed so they can wrestle on it. Friends who are here all the time join in because they know us and they know that it's just how we are, how I am.
I like to have fun, I like my kids to have fun, and unlike my mother, I like my kids to know that everything doesn't always have to be so serious. There's nothing wrong with that, because serious all the time sucks. I adult when I have to and I'm serious when the need arises, but I also like to laugh and enjoy life, just like a kid. Do I think I'll ever change? Nope, because there's no reason to. As long as nobody's getting hurt I'll continue to act like a kid and invite my kids to join in the fun. Maybe if more people were like us, the world would be a happier place.
Until next time...peace to all.
Where Have I Been?
-
It's hard to believe it's been so long since I've posted anything....but
that's how I roll. It's been about a year. So much has happened in a
year. Some...
11 years ago
