I can't tell you how many times I've been in the restroom at either of my jobs, or just out at a store, and someone has come along and tried to enter, just assuming that nobody was in there. Why are you making that assumption? It's actually quite startling to the person using the facilities to suddenly hear someone trying to enter the bathroom. Thoughts popping up in rapid succession. "Did I lock the door?" "I hope that lock works." "Please don't let that door open." "ACK!!" What the heck, people?
When you are at home and the bathroom door is closed do you just assume nobody is in there and try to open the door? If you do try, is the door locked by the person in there or do you cause an embarrassing situation for both of you? "Oops! Heh heh. Sorry." as you back out while closing the door. Nobody wants to be caught in that position so the proper thing to do is to knock before attempting to open the door. I always knock first, at home and in public. I don't understand why everybody doesn't follow that process. What's so difficult about it?
And if you're in the bathroom and someone does knock, how do you respond? I've just said whatever I could think of on such short notice. "Someone's in here." "Occupied." "Hold on, I wasn't expecting company." Is there a proper way to let someone know the facilities are in use? It's hard to come up with something in that situation, right? I mean, you're not exactly at your best and the person outside knows it. It's actually kind of creepy when you think about it. Especially when you indicate your presence and you know that stranger is now standing outside the door listening to you do your business. Now you have to keep everything quiet because you've lost your privacy. Yikes!
I'm also not sure if most people realize it but single-use bathrooms can be used by anyone, regardless of the fact that they are labeled "Men" and "Women". Nobody else is in there so who cares who's using it? I do it all the time. If someone is in the women's room, I'll use the men's room as long as it's empty. It's not a big deal. It's the same exact room, most of the time. There are some men's rooms that have a urinal also installed but I have no interest there. Some friends and coworkers I have spoken to refuse to use the other bathroom, but I do know others who will use whichever restroom is available since they know they'll be in there alone. Provided the next person who comes along actually knocks first. Hint, hint!
Until next time...peace to all.
