Changes are in the air. I spent all day working with friends setting up decorations for New Year’s Eve parties at eight different venues around the Island. I had a blast and my kids got to visit with their relatives. A good time was had by all. We watched the ball drop and the kids went to bed; I followed at 1:30 in the morning after having been up since 4:30 Saturday morning. Our work day was a long one. Anyway, everything was great, as far as I could tell.
Sunday morning after a quick run to the supermarket with Lisa and our kids, things started going downhill. Aside from the fact that I’d lost my voice late the night before and it was getting worse, Lisa got into a fight with another resident in the kitchen while we were packing out the groceries. When I say “fight” I mean that in the literal sense. It was a fist fight. In the midst of trying to break it up I got clocked in the back of the head by the other resident who happened to have her cell phone in her hand at the time. OUCH!! Now I’ve got a lump on behind my left ear that hurts like a bitch. Well, because of the fight both Lisa and the other resident are being discharged as of tomorrow. They would have been gone today but because Social Services is closed today in observance of the holiday they have to wait until tomorrow.
Now that’s bad for me and good for me in the same turn. Lisa and her daughter I will miss. They are wonderful people and have become really good friends. I’ll be alone after they leave since I’m not really friendly with the remaining three residents. On the good side, the other resident who’s also leaving is a huge pain in the ass. She spends most of her day screaming at her kids – 8, 2, and 1. She completely ignores the eight-year-old boy who in turn spends his time bothering the shit out of the rest of us. She needed to be discharged a while ago. I don’t know if I mentioned her before but she’s the one who doesn’t follow any of the rules making life really difficult for everybody else. It’ll be nice to see her go.
As much as I’ll miss Lisa I’m glad she’s getting the chance to be placed somewhere else. She needs to have a change for her and her daughter. She’s annoyed that she has to go through the aggravation of returning to Social Services but, as I told her this morning, everything for a reason. She agreed. We all need change and Lisa’s getting her chance for some. That makes me feel like I’ll be getting a positive change soon, too.
I had a friend in Missouri ask me yesterday if I was still planning on returning to Missouri in February and I don’t ever recall saying that to her. She claims I said it sometime in October but I honestly don’t remember. However, I’m taking it as a good sign that maybe, just maybe, I’ll get to be returning there very quickly, or at least the Universe will find a place for me and put me there. The way I see it, two of my friends have already left here – Kia and her kids, and now Lisa. When Lisa is gone tomorrow, everything for my kids and me will be different around here.
Lisa’s daughter is the one my kids play with all the time. She won’t be here so my kids won’t have anyone to hang with when they’re home. I won’t have anyone but staff to really talk to because, as I’ve already said, I’m not really on a “friend” basis with any of the other residents. Yes, we talk and we get along, but we don’t hang out the way Lisa and I do. It sucks but it just gives me more incentive to get the hell up outta here. That’s a good thing, right? I think it is.
So, we’ll see what happens. I have to call the social worker at the boys’ school tomorrow. I was supposed to call her before the holidays but didn’t get the chance. I’ve already set a reminder on my phone to call her tomorrow. When she called me two weeks ago she said she’d written a letter and made a phone call to the Independence Housing Authority but I didn’t get a chance to find out any details. I’ll find out tomorrow. Maybe it’ll be good new; maybe it won’t be any news. Maybe she’ll tell me Missouri isn’t the place for me and that I need to go to California or something. Ya never know.
What I do know is that PRD isn’t the place for my kids and me and we need to get back into our own place wherever the Universe sees fit to put us. We need to get our cats back and get our lives moving forward again. That’s what’s gonna happen, and I know it’s gonna be soon. I can’t wait to see what surprises are in store for us. It’s so exciting to know something great is coming, I just hate having to wait. But it is what it is and there’s nothing I can do about it. All in good time, and everything for a reason.
Until next time…peace to all.
Where Have I Been?
-
It's hard to believe it's been so long since I've posted anything....but
that's how I roll. It's been about a year. So much has happened in a
year. Some...
11 years ago

What a great post. It's so awesome that you are so in tune with things that you picked up on your friends comment about moving in February. It's a sign that things will be changing for you and the kids....I can just feel it! And you're right, things do happen for a reason. That's one of my first go-to lines because I believe it. Not so long ago, I didn't see things that way...but now I do!
ReplyDeleteIt's your turn Beth.
Tracy
I hope so!! :)
ReplyDelete