Both of my boys, Ty and Zach, spend their weekends out in public during this COVID-19 pandemic, not because they want to, but because they are considered essential employees. The boys work together at a local retail store stocking essential items, and probably some not-so-essential items simply because the items are in the workload. They spend their weekends making sure the public - YOU - have what you need when you run to the store - food, paper goods, cleaning supplies, health and hygiene items, and everything else you may need during this crisis.
They get home from work after 10:00pm, tired and sometimes hungry, but always willing to tell me about their workday. Usually the days go smoothly, as long as the store has the items there to be stocked. Sometimes it's just waiting around for the delivery but they're still working during the wait. When that delivery arrives, they work their butts off to get the shelves stocked for you. The problem lately, though, is the rudeness and disrespect from the customers toward them and their fellow employees.
Apparently you people have forgotten that many items are in short supply, especially after thousands of you ran out at the first sign of trouble and hoarded essential items - food, toilet paper, paper towels, napkins, hand sanitizer, soap, and many others - not leaving any for people outside of your immediate family. You have also apparently forgotten that these essential employees are working at risk to themselves and their families to make sure you have more of everything on the shelves.
While I thank the workers I've come in contact with, I've personally heard many customers talk down to grocery store employees because an item isn't back on the shelves yet. I've heard employees being belittled and snarked at because you can't get what you want when you want it. I've heard people grumble under their breath about what you call "lazy and incompetent" employees. Guess what! It's not the fault of the retail workers that their shelves aren't stocked. It's not anyone's fault at this point.
Factory employees are working around the clock to produce and ship what they can, to as many locations as they can. Truck drivers are doing their best to get stock from point A to point B but there are occasional delays that they can't control. Many of them aren't able to carry full loads to each store because of the high demand of specific products - the demand caused by YOU - so they have to split loads between stores.
The stores get the shipments and their employees do their best to stock the shelves as quickly as possible. Many of you people don't seem to care. All you care about is you, you, you. You don't care that these retail workers are working long, hard hours for your convenience. You don't care that they're are at just as much risk as you are of catching and possibly transmitting this virus. Yet all you want to do is bitch, gripe, groan and complain.
Standing and tapping your toe while pointing to your watch while Ty is stocking paper goods because "You've got a line back here, you gonna hurry it up?" Then arguing with him when he says he's doing the best he can with what he's got. Shut up!! Unless you're willing to risk your health and the health of your family to do what he's doing, shut up. He's' doing it for you so you can purchase yet another package of toilet paper.
Zach goes out of his way to help customers reach items that they aren't capable of reaching on high shelves only to be scolded and snarked at because he's not moving fast enough when he is also having trouble reaching it. He had a customer literally get in his face because he told the guy he's not allowed to check in the back for other items, especially beer (alcohol will be a post for another day) since he's a minor.
And it's not just my boys I'm talking about. They've told me that their fellow employees get treated this same way. So basically, in the face of a national emergency, the general public has turned into a bunch of rude morons simply because they think they can be. You would absolutely blow a gasket if some stranger walked into your workplace and yelled at you because they felt like it. And don't even try to deny it.
These employees are specifically told by management that what's on the shelves is what's available, and that's what they tell you but you argue with them. What do these employees have to gain by lying to you? Nothing, that's what. So stop it! Stop belittling them, stop arguing with them, stop trying to make them feel like they don't matter. They matter more than you know because without them you'd have NOTHING on the shelves, and then where would you be?
I'm tired of them telling me that the store closes at 8:30 but many of you don't follow instructions very well. When the announcement is made to bring your final purchases to the register because the store is closing - check out and leave. They still have work to do to get the store ready for customers the next day. It's completely disrespectful that you ignore the rules. You are no better than anyone else and you don't deserve extra privileges, especially during a crisis like this.
So here's the deal. Start following the rules. If what you need is not essential, stay home. If you must go to the store, leave when you're told. I can promise you that if you don't, the stores will start opening to a certain number of people at a time, for even shorter hours, and for only specific items to be purchased. Whose fault will that be? YOURS.
When you do go out, HAVE SOME RESPECT FOR THE PEOPLE WHO ARE MAKING SURE YOU CAN BUY WHAT YOU NEED!! They don't have to be there but you'd be pissed if they weren't. Thank them for being there, for sticking it out to make sure life goes on as usual as possible. Instead of arguing or yelling at them, suck it up and realize that this is how things are right now and you're no more special than they are. I can promise you that if I happen to be around when one of you gets in the face of one of my kids, or any of their fellow employees, when you decide to throw a tantrum, I'll absolutely make sure you hear from me - and it won't be pleasant for you.
We're all in this together so grow up, be patient, show some respect to these amazing employees and be grateful, not hateful.
Until next time...peace to all.
Where Have I Been?
-
It's hard to believe it's been so long since I've posted anything....but
that's how I roll. It's been about a year. So much has happened in a
year. Some...
11 years ago

People suck
ReplyDelete