I’ve been sitting here for a while now trying to decide
whether or not to discuss this issue and I finally decided that I want to put
it out there. I have to preface it, though, by saying that I’m a critical
thinker; I question everything. I also teach my kids to question everything. “I
don’t care if your teacher told you that? What do you believe and why?” I make
them think, and re-think, and ask questions on all sides of an argument. And I expect adults to do the same, although I
think I’m expecting too much. I’ll tell you why.
A friend of mine posted something on Facebook about how she doesn’t
believe in religion. She said it wasn’t intended to offend anyone; it was
simply a reflection of her own beliefs. One of her friends, who apparently is
very religious, got offended and began a verbal attack on what my friend had
posted. Why? What was the point of the attack and why did she get so offended?
Isn’t my friend allowed to have and express her own opinion?
It’s not my friend’s fault that her friend got offended but
my friend then felt like she needed to further explain why she posted what she did,
and why she believes what she believes. She actually tried to downplay it so
her friend wouldn’t continue to be so angry. I think that was wrong. My friend
ought not to have had to lighten her words simply because someone else disagreed
with her. I guess she felt she needed to, though. That’s not fair, folks.
I really wanted
to throw a wrench into the mix and make the religious chick explain her opinion
and why she believes so whole-heartedly in her religion. I wanted to lay out a
whole line of questions for her to answer with something other than “because it’s
what I’ve always been taught/told.” I wanted to start a huge debate with her
simply for the fact that I wanted to make her defend herself with solid facts.
But I didn’t do it.
I did post that I thought the conversation was interesting
and that I wanted to throw in the wrench but that I wasn’t going to. I haven’t seen
a response yet because it’s late here, so I don’t know yet what my friend will
say to my comment. I don’t want her to feel like she started a war just because
she posted about her beliefs. She and I believe the same way so I’m sure she’ll
be interested in my comments; she just may not want her friend to get any more offended than she already is.
I just want her friend to understand that there are two
sides to every argument, sometimes more, and that she doesn’t have to stand on
a belief just because someone told her to. I can’t recall ever meeting anyone
in my life, so far, who, as a child, liked going to Sunday school or Catechism,
or whatever class they had to attend for their religion. Everyone I ask tells
me they hated it and they hated having religion forced on them as children. Yet, as adults,
they believe what they were taught as kids. Why?
Didn’t anyone ever tell them it was okay to ask questions,
to look for answers elsewhere? Granted, most people have their beliefs and are
fine with mine, yet some people get downright defensive and antsy when I
question why they believe what they do. That doesn’t make sense to me. From
past experience, anyone I’ve ever known who got defensive was hiding something.
I’m not even just talking about religion here. There’s
absolutely nothing wrong with healthy discussion on any topic yet so many people
get offended when they get challenged. If you don’t want to discuss the topic
just say so; don’t get angry and start throwing out a bunch of bullshit that
has nothing to do with why you hold that particular opinion or belief. Either
back up your beliefs, or shut up completely. And don’t make someone else feel
bad because they don’t believe what you do, or because they question you about
it. If that’s the way you want to be I’ll throw so many questions at you that
you’ll end up more confused than when you started. That’s my guarantee to you.
Until next time… peace to all.

No comments:
Post a Comment