I posted a comment about this tonight on my Facebook page and I'm still trying to decide whether or not to discuss it with my kids' teachers and, perhaps, the school principal. Today Zach brought home a notice from the Principal's office regarding a new system they're trying this year. It's called the "Academic Incentive Referral system" and I'm actually kind of torn about it.
It's a plan the school is utilizing to get students to behave appropriately in school as well as get their work done. A student can earn a ticket into a weekly drawing if: the student hasn't been referred to the Principal's office for behavior or academic reasons, if the student hasn't been sent to the Buddy or recovery rooms (forms of discipline when the student can't behave in the classroom), and if the student has no more than one missing assignment.
Additionally a student can earn more tickets into the weekly lottery drawing if an adult observes the student "being responsible, respectful, actively learning and/or safe," and there is no limit to the number of times a student's name can be entered into the lottery. YAY? I'm just not so sure about this.
It seems to me that students these days are being bribed into completing school work and behaving properly. Positive reinforcement is one thing: "I really appreciate you walking down the hall so quietly and for following the rules. It makes me proud of you all." Dangling a prize in front of the students to get them to do what's wanted and/or required is a whole other ball game and it doesn't make sense to me.
Yes, there are times when my kids get 'rewards' for good behavior but that's when I feel they've all earned it and it's always unexpected to them. I don't tell them, "Hey, we'll go out to eat if all of you follow all the rules this week." No, that's not the way it's done, not in my home, anyway. "Hey, you know what? You guys have done a great job these past couple of weeks staying on track and being respectful. I'm really proud of you and I'd like to take you out to dinner."
Those rewards, however, are few and far between because I don't want them to get used to receiving rewards constantly for doing what is already required of them. They receive discipline more often for not following the rules, meaning they lose a privilege or time with me or whatever works best at the moment. That's their incentive to not repeat the ugly behavior. As an adult they may occasionally receive a bonus or 'reward' for doing what's expected but more likely than not they'll receive disciplinary action for making a bad choice.
As adults we don't get bonuses or incentives for following the rules of the road when we drive but we sure as hell will get a ticket, or worse, for not following them. Yes, insurance companies may offer incentives for safe driving but not all do and the ones that do don't offer them on a weekly basis. Yes, we may get a bonus occasionally at work for going above and beyond but if we don't do what's expected we lose the potential bonus, or, if our actions are bad enough, we lose the job.
I'm just not sure I want my kids being taught that whenever they make good choices there are rewards to follow. I understand why the school wants to implement the system but I'm not 100% positive it won't have negative effects later on in the upper schools or in their adults lives. Think high school - Student: "What's my prize for doing all my homework?" Teacher: "There is no prize in high school, it's expected of you." Student: "In that case I just won't do the work." Yes, the student will get disciplined and maybe do all the work the next time; then again, maybe not.
Maybe I'm just making too much of this, I don't know. I'll have to think about it for a while and see what the pros and cons are. I'm trying to teach my kids one thing and the schools are trying to teach them another. It makes for some serious conflict at times, conflict I'd rather avoid it at all possible. Oh well, it'll all work out as it's supposed to, I guess; we'll see what happens after I've gathered some more opinions.
Until next time...peace to all.
Where Have I Been?
-
It's hard to believe it's been so long since I've posted anything....but
that's how I roll. It's been about a year. So much has happened in a
year. Some...
11 years ago

You may be making a mountain out of a molehill on this one. Im pretty sure the system isnt going to confuse them into believing that society is going to reward them for behaving like citizens... give em more credit than that.
ReplyDeleteIn my opinion, a system of rewards is far preferable to a system of punishments whether in school or in everyday life.
There are countless examples of rewarding adults for their actions/behaviors.. besides the ones you mentioned theres:
Work bonuses/ vacation days
Medals for soldiers
Tax breaks for donating to charity
Emmys for actors
Dividends from stock
Buy one get one free
Tips for waitresses... and just plain compliments. The list goes on and on.
No,Im pretty certain that no child will grow up and march into city hall asking for a reward for not breaking the law that year.. or flag down a cop to to ask for treats because he's never had a ticket. ... (even though there are adults who believe they deserve special treatments for whatever reason suits them... different topic).
And the bottom line is, children respond to rewards more readily than to threats of punishment.
Should they get a prize for turning in every book report? No. .. but for turning it in completed, on time every single time for a semester.. well, why not? It may turn a D earner into a B earner.
All my opinion of course.... :)