Today I had a rather enjoyable day. I spoke for maybe a total of fifteen minutes all day long - once each to the kids' friends who knocked on the door, and twice to the guy at QuikTrip when I went to get smokes and then cookies and milk. The rest of my conversations were between my cats and me. I did most of the talking but it still wasn't for very long.
I watched TV, played video games on the computer, and occasionally checked in on my friends on Facebook. After the second or third time, though, I stopped checking. It was actually irritating me today. Ask me why and I'll tell you. Eh, never mind, I'll tell you anyway. I use Facebook as a fun place to visit my friends, to share pictures of the kids, and to communicate with people who I generally don't get the chance to call on the phone. I occasionally post a rant or gripe that I'm having but for the most part I take great pleasure in seeing what everyone is up to in their lives and sharing what I'm up to in mine. Lately, though, I'm starting to get aggravated with a few people and I'm about to start hiding their posts.
I've already hidden the posts of one friend who has spent the past two-three years living a new and healthy lifestyle. There's nothing wrong with that, right? Right. He wants to be healthy and fit and that's wonderful except for the fact that he posts, ad nauseam, about his lifestyle. He uses a well-known workout program and posts every single time he works out, what he does during the workout, how he feels after the workout. He posts pictures of almost every meal he eats and all the new meals he's created out of tofu, kale and whatever other funky and organic foods he can find.
He also posts what he considers to be inspirational photos urging others to exercise and eat healthy, too. Not just one or two, but dozens at a time. I know I'm not a health nut and I could do more to get in shape and eat better but I really don't need anyone cramming their healthy lifestyle down my throat on a daily basis. He's almost as bad as the people who constantly post their religious or political views for all to see.
Most of us post inspirational, uplifting, feel-good pictures when we find them. I've done it myself and have posted a few in a row if I've seen some that I like but I don't make it my mission on a daily basis like some people do. My sister, who I haven't spoken to in a couple of years, was like that. Always trying to shove religion on me. "You need to find a church where you'll be comfortable. You'll feel better." Fuck that. I'm happy doing what I do when I do it and my religious or spiritual choices are my business. I don't often discuss them with anyone unless they ask and I don't spend my time posting them on Facebook. I have a few friends who do it all the time. I know their views, do I have to be reminded of them every time I visit my page?
The same goes for the couple of friends who are cramming their political views down my throat constantly. They don't like the President and apparently want to make sure that everyone knows it. No, Tracy, you're not one of them; I'm referring to a different couple of people. :) Lately their views have been focused on the gun laws and bans and all that. Almost every single post I see from them is based on all the wrong things the President has done and is doing with regard to the country and, specifically, the weapons issues.
I have my own thoughts on the issue but I'm not going to voice them here. I will say, though, that everyone who keeps citing the second amendment needs to go back and read it word for word, and look up the definitions of those words they don't understand. "The right to bear arms" is not the entire amendment, there's more to it than that. So stop saying your rights are being infringed upon until you actually know what the entire wording is.
As far as the President is concerned, it really makes my teeth itch when people post pictures with sayings or slogans that are negative toward the President. They don't have a clue about the truth of what's being done in D.C. and neither do I. Quite honestly these people are spreading negative propaganda, I'm assuming, to try to sway others to their way of thinking. It doesn't work with me because I'm not convinced of anything unless I've seen concrete proof.
I don't care who's in office. Nobody will ever know exactly what's been done or not done so we all need to cut the bullshit when it comes to putting down the government. All Presidents have made mistakes regardless of their party yet people seem to want to blame whoever they didn't vote for rather than admitting that each past mistake led up to present ones. These are the same people who blame their exes for relationships gone bad and who blame the school because Junior can't spell when they are too busy to work with him at home.
I just really got annoyed today when I was trying to have a good day alone and kept seeing all this negative government blaming and "Like if you love Jesus" crap constantly. I figured I'd have a better day if I just stayed off of Facebook, and I was right. I had a lovely day and am still having a good evening. I never did any of the work I needed to do today because I just wanted a day of pure relaxation. I'll get the work done tomorrow before the kids get home and, with luck, I'll be able to check in on Facebook for a bit of humor every now and again. If not I'll definitely get to hiding posts because I'd rather spend my day smiling without itchy teeth. It makes for a much more pleasant day.
Until next time...peace to all.
Where Have I Been?
-
It's hard to believe it's been so long since I've posted anything....but
that's how I roll. It's been about a year. So much has happened in a
year. Some...
11 years ago

I think everyone should have a blog to do all of their serious bitching huh? It's so therapeudic! :) I get what you're saying about the politics. I had to get rid of a couple of liberals that were making me crazy. I know that sounds mean, but they totally can't accept that someone has an opinion different than theirs. Anyone who knows me knows that I'm a conservative chick. However, I am not so naive to believe that everyone should have the same opinion on politics...or anything else...because we are all different. We all have our own life experiences that bring different opinions to the table. It's what makes the world interesting, right! I try not to cram anything down someone else's throat, I wouldn't want anyone to do that to me. So, if you have to hide a few people...so be it. Life is too short to have to sift through all that crap right? Great post, as always. Love ya!
ReplyDelete