Monday, November 15, 2010

Driven to Confusion

I know things happen for a reason but does that go for little shit, too? This morning started out as it always does. The kids and I got up at about the same time, just before my alarm sounded. The boys got dressed and ready to go right away; Dolly had to be coaxed a little. I have to leave the house to get Dolly to school before Ty’s bus arrives to I gave him a big hug and kiss before I left. Zach didn’t want a hug and kiss yet because I usually make it back to the house with about two minutes to spare before he gets on his bus.

So I get Dolly to school at about 8:10 and she asks me to stay and help set up for breakfast. We put the chairs at the tables and passed out the cereal containers, spoons, napkins and milk. She sat down to eat and I gave her a hug and kiss and left. I was leaving her school a few minutes behind schedule but figured I could still make it back home to see Zach before he left if I just pushed the speed limit a bit. I pulled out of the parking lot right behind a big pick-up truck. In front of him was – OH GOOD GRIEF – a bulldozer!! A huge yellow ten-mile-an-hour bulldozer was leading the pack.

I figured it would be okay if he would just turn off onto one of the other roads but that was not happening. He was following the path I use to get home; so far, anyway. I called Kara to explain what was happening and asked her to give Zach a big hug and kiss from me in case I didn’t get there before the bus did. Still behind the bulldozer I waited until I got to the light where I could go one of two ways. Whichever way he was going, I was going the other. He decided to go straight so I made the right and landed right at the train tracks as the gate was going down. I got to sit there and watch the ten-mile-an-hour train go rumbling past and finally got to continue on my way.

I made it back to the main road and headed home, still trying to make it before the bus. About two minutes later Kara texted me a message telling me to take my time, she was driving the boys to school. I still wanted to see if I would have beat the bus so I just continued at a steady pace until I got home. I would have made it in time for the goodbye kiss and hug but today the bus was late anyway; it was a different driver. Kara was driving them because Zach had asked her, right after I called, if she would drive them since she’d driven Ty and her other son to school last week. Fair enough.

So that was that, or so I thought. I forgot that Ty had an afterschool thing to do today and that I’d have to pick him up at 3:45. Kara and I ran a few errands and got home about ten minutes before I had to leave to pick up Dolly. I get her around 3:15 and had to be back to get Ty, also. Kara told me to call her and she’d go get him if need be, but that would be tight since the second bus drops off our younger boys at 4:00. See the need to get a bus for Dolly? Anyway, I headed out to get her and was almost to her school when traffic had to stop to let a monstrous construction truck pull across the road to back up into the area where the work was being done. We got to sit and watch the ten-mile-an-hour behemoth block traffic during its maneuvers. So I got to Dolly’s school about 3:05 and we said a quick goodbye to her teachers and we were off to get Ty.

At the light where I’d made the right that morning when the bulldozer went straight, I actually went straight since the right turn would have put me smack in the middle of a traffic jam. We were doing fine until the lady in front of me decided to stop and let two people out of a parking lot. I had people behind me honking but there wasn’t anything I could do. When the lady had her fill of dishing out kindness she finally moved and we got to sit at a long red light. She continued to poke along in front of everyone for a few miles and finally turned so the rest of us could continue. The drive was really smooth after that and we actually got to Ty’s school 15 minutes early. Go figure.

So what was the meaning of all my delays today? I don’t know so I was hoping one of you could clue me in on it. I didn’t get anywhere late; I actually arrived early at all of my destinations. I still can’t figure out what lesson I was supposed to learn from having all the slow-moving vehicles in front of me today, though. Maybe it’ll come to me in a dream; maybe someone will tip me off; maybe I’ll never find out. If you think of anything, please pass it along; and if I figure it out I’ll do the same. In the meantime we’ll all just have to wait for the answer, if we ever get one. I would be nice but if it doesn’t happen, so be it. I just don’t like being in the dark. Please turn on the lights for me, if you think you can. I’d really appreciate it. Thanks.

Until next time…peace to all.

No comments:

Post a Comment