Thursday, April 28, 2011

Laughing at Me

I totally forgot to tell you what happened the other day; it was really funny and I have, long ago, learned to laugh at myself. It’s a must in my book because I do so much goofy shit that I’d refuse to leave my house if I couldn’t laugh at me. So here’s what happened.

I was upstairs in the kitchen with Kara and, for some reason, I had my hooded jacket with me. I usually keep it down here but I must have just come in from an errand and just hung it on the back of the chair at the dining table. So she and I were chatting and her boys were going through their old movies trying to decide what to keep and what to get rid of. Her youngest son came in with a Shirley Temple DVD called “The Little Princess” and asked what he should do with it because they didn’t want it. Of course, I snapped it up thinking Dolly would love it.

Since I didn’t have any place to put the DVD that I would remember to bring it back down here with me I put it in the hood of my jacket thinking it would have to come with me when I brought my jacket downstairs. I sat down and the two of us continued chatting when she realized we needed milk and a couple of other things for dinner. I offered to run to the stores to get what we needed and ran down here to get my pocketbook, my keys, and my shoes. I grabbed my jacket and then I headed out the door.

Damn!! Kara’s car was parked behind mine. I ran in to get her keys to pull her car up next to mine so I could get out. I moved her car, returned her keys to the house, and I was on my way. Both places I needed to go are only about five minutes away so I figured I go to the furthest one first to get the milk and some tomato sauce. The sun was shining and I was in a good mood, singing along to the radio. Nice quick drive and I arrived at the first store. Parked, turned off the motor, and reached down for my bag. Huh? Where the fuck was my pocketbook? I could swear I brought it with me. I looked around the van but couldn’t find it. Great!! Now I can’t even remember to bring my shit with me when I go somewhere. I started the car and headed back home.

The entire ride back I was berating myself for not being able to remember anything anymore, even though I was positive I left the house with my bag in my hand. Suddenly it occurred to me. It was still in Kara’s car. As I walked out with her keys I specifically told myself to put my bag in my van so I wouldn’t forget it. Then I laughed at me saying, “Nah, no worries, you won’t forget it.” Guess what. I forgot it. It was in the passenger seat of her car. When I got in to move her car I put it on the other seat and didn’t remember to grab it again before I got in my van.

I pulled up to the house, ran inside to get Kara’s keys, explaining to her why I needed them, and we both had a good chuckle over it. She even apologized thinking that it wouldn’t have happened had her car been where it was supposed to be. Silly girl. It wasn’t her fault at all. It was mine. I was the doofus who couldn’t remember my own shit. So I got my bag and had Kara reset her locks and alarm from inside the house and I was off to the store – again. This time I arrived and was able to get the milk and sauce and head to my next errand, which was only about 30 seconds back toward the house.

I got there, went inside, spoke with the woman who was to help me, got what I needed, and was on my way again. No need to bring my bag with me that time since what I was picking up required no money. Anyway, I got back in the van and headed home, trying to beat my ex back to the house. He’d had the kids for a few days and was on his way back with them. I just wanted to get back before he did. I made it, too.

I carried all the bags in the house and Kara and I went through them, put things away, chatted for a couple of more minutes, then I headed back down here to sit and wait for the kids to get here. I came downstairs, took off my shoes, put my bag on the floor by my desk, and took off my jacket. That was when the really funny part happened. As I took off my jacket I noticed that something was in the hood. Yep, you guessed it. I’d forgotten to take the movie out of the hood before I left the house. I’d made two different stops, both with people either standing in line behind me or watching me as I left the building.

I can only imagine what they were thinking. “Does this crazy chick know she’s got a movie in the hood of her jacket?” I’m sure they said it a little more colorfully but that’s okay. Kara said she was surprised they didn’t think I stole the movie but neither of the places I stopped sell movies so I was safe there. I just can’t believe I didn’t feel the movie when I put on my jacket, or sat in the van; that I only noticed it when I took off the jacket to hang it. Good grief. How ridiculous did I look with that movie sticking out of my hood? I guess that just proves that I am starting to forget things. Either that or I’m just subconsciously looking for attention. Regardless, it was pretty funny and I still laugh when I think about it. Hey, I may as well laugh at me; other people are. J

Until next time…peace to all.

Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Just Another Shopping Story

I have to share this tonight because I know I’m not the only one it’s happened to; and it annoys me every time. Before I get into the whole issue, though, let me just say that I can’t stand shopping. Food shopping, clothing shopping, gift shopping – any kind of shopping, and any aspect of shopping, just irks the crap out of me. I’ve even been accused of not being a “real girl” because I don’t like shopping. That’s fine; this issue, however, deals with – you guessed it – shopping.

I went to the supermarket today; it was just a quick stop on my way to get Dolly from school, and I’ve done it countless times. Today’s trip, though, was a real PITA. All I needed was cat food. Get in, get the items, pay, get out, and I’m on my way. That didn’t happen and that’s why I have to mention it. So let’s get started, shall we?

This particular supermarket has 12 checkout lanes; the 12th being the express lane with a 15-items-or-less policy. There are also four self-checkout stations; also with a 15-item maximum. If I’m only getting a few items I generally use the self-checkout because it’s quicker and I don’t have to wait in line, most days, anyway. I do like the self-checkout but it still bugs me that I have to pay full price for the items when I’m doing the work. It’s my understanding that a portion of the cost of the food is used for overhead expenses which would include salaries. If I’m not correct, please let me know. If I am correct, those of us who do check our own items deserve a small discount.

Anyway, I went into the store, picked seven cans of cat food and headed back to the front of the store. I got to the self-checkout to find that all four stations were being used; apparently by four people who had never used them before. I’ll explain. If you’ve never used a self-checkout, at least in this store, it’s simple. There are step-by-step instructions and if you follow them you can be done in minutes. The screen is a touch screen with clearly-labeled “buttons” on it, plus there is a voice that talks you through your purchase.

A BIG GREEN button says “Push to start order.” Then the voice tells you to scan your first item. Once you’ve scanned it, the price comes up on the screen and you are verbally instructed to put the item in the bag. Folks, the bags are hung on a scale platform so the computer does know if you didn’t put the item in the bag. You can’t stand there with two items and scan one and then the other without putting the first item in the bag. The machine won’t let you. When you’re finished scanning all your items you hit the BIG RED button that says “End order” and the voice will talk you through the remaining steps. This isn’t rocket science, people; my kids can work these machines.

So these four people were all, very slowly, trying to ring up their items as a line formed behind them with those of us who would've really like to have been done with this wonderful shopping experience. Eventually I got annoyed and walked next door to the official express lane. As I was walking over a man got there ahead of me which was fine; he had one bag of sugar. The lady who was already in the line, however, and was being checked by the cashier, had her cart half filled with items. Half a cart is NOT 15 items or less.

Now, there have been occasions when I’ve been invited into the express lane by the cashier who noticed me looking for a checkout lane. Her lane was empty so I was invited. If I’ve had more than the max, though, I’ve declined only to be told that it would be fine. Sometimes I’ve even accepted the offer, but I’ve also only had three or four items over the limit – not a week’s worth of food. If someone’s got a couple more than 15 items I don’t really care, but this was way out of line since there were more people now lining up behind me. On a quick sidebar, let me just tell you all that 15 cans of cat food does not equal one item – IT’S 15 SEPARATE ITEMS, FOLKS!!! Two packages of ground beef is two items, and so on, regardless of what you may think.

Back on track now. Not only was this lady over the limit for the lane, but she wasn’t even helping to bag her own stuff. I know, many places do it for you. They did it for me when I lived in MO, and they were usually very pleased when I bagged my own items. In MD, not only did the one store I frequented bag for me but they also offered to carry it out to my car for me. Imagine that. I was tempted to buy a pack of gum and accept the offer of the carry out service just to see what would happen. J

Anyway, here in NY the cashier can bag but there are also bags hanging at the end of the counter for you to bag your own. This lady was really pissing me off. She literally stood there watching the cashier bag her groceries, in the paper-in-plastic form, no less, and then she’d put the full bag in her cart and stand there waiting for the next bag. Come the fuck on, already!! Pick up a bag and put your shit in it so the rest of us can get on with our business.

The fact that she wouldn’t bag her own stuff was only made worse by the fact that the cashier was 100 years old, slow as fucking molasses, and straining to pick up the cans of tomatoes in this lady’s order. Are you kidding? Hint to the supermarket managerial staff: never put your oldest and slowest cashier on express lane duty. Express is supposed to go quickly; we’re not supposed to need haircuts by the time we leave the store.

The over-maximum lady was finally done, the sugar man paid, and then I finally got to pay – I bagged my own stuff, too – and leave. What’s really funny is that, as I was walking out the door with my bag, the lady who was waiting on the line right ahead of me at the self-checkout earlier was just leaving also. It actually took those four other people the same amount of time to ring their own orders as it did the cashier to ring the over-maximum lady in the express lane; and the cashier had already started the lady's order when I got on line. What’s wrong with this picture?

So that’s it; my pet peeve for the day. I know there’s nothing I can do about it; I don’t work there, I don’t know anyone who works there, and a letter to the company wouldn’t change a thing. So be it; it is what it is. It’s happened before and I know it’ll happen again; I may as well laugh at it. On a positive note, at least I’ll know when it’s time for a haircut. J

Until next time…peace to all.

Monday, April 25, 2011

Getting Really Tired of Your Crap

Here’s the deal: don’t complain to me about shit if you’re not actually going to do anything about it. Matter of fact, don’t complain to anyone if you’re not going to do something to change the situation you’re in if it’s really that bad. It’s nobody’s job to listen to you bitch, gripe, groan, and complain on a constant basis, asking for advice, and talking about “if only” this and that. That goes for any situation but now I’m going to get specific.

I can name, but I won’t, three people in my life right now who I’ve listened to for I don’t know how long complaining about their spouse/mate/significant other, whatever the case may be for them. Stop already. I’ve listened to you tell me what a shit the other is for years/months/weeks, depending upon who you are. “She’s such an idiot. All she does is bitch at me about” this and that. “He’s such an asshole and can’t do anything right.” “He leaves and doesn’t call or answer his phone for days but I want him back.” “I can’t stand it when s/he does” this or that.

Then you separate for a while, sometimes claiming it’s for good. You then spend your time going back and forth between how much you miss him/her and how glad you are that s/he is gone from your life. THEN, a few weeks go by and you’re back together again and everything seems to be peaches and cream when suddenly the same shit starts happening all over again. Did you honestly believe s/he could change that drastically in a matter of days or weeks? Seriously? Nobody can change that quickly; and lots of people can’t change at all. I know that for a fact. Remember my last relationship? DV is no joke; just ask those of us who’ve been there.

I’m just tired of listening to you telling me how bad shit is for you when you’re not even trying to make any changes for the better. Don’t get me wrong; I complain about things going on in my life – I don’t have a job yet, I need a place of my own; I get angry at those who hurt me; but I also spend most of my time trying to make my situation better regardless of the nonsense that’s thrown my way. You don’t. You spend your time fighting with your mate and crying to me about it. What the fuck? Do you honestly think you’re a special case? Guess what. You’re not. I’ve already said I can name three people right off the top of my head and you’re all in the same situation. You’re not unique here.

What really irks me is that I’ve got a very dear friend who lost her husband in 2008 to Cancer. I met one of her friends who also lost her husband to a massive heart attack. Both men were young, handsome, and had a lot to offer this World. But they were taken too soon and have left behind brokenhearted wives and families. I know for a fact that either of these two wonderful women would give anything to have their husbands back, and they wouldn’t bitch about stupid shit that happens with their husbands. Let’s get real here, people, if s/he isn’t what you want, if you feel the need to be so angry all the time over the crap that s/he does, then maybe it’s time to move on; don’t you think? I do.

I don’t complain about my relationship for the simple fact that I’ve chosen not to be in one right now. I’ve got too much on my plate and don’t have the time or energy to devote to a man. It wouldn’t be fair to either of us. Would I like a relationship? Perhaps; when I’ve got my life together, when I’m settled in my own place, when my kids are settled, when I’m capable of supporting myself. Then, maybe I’ll want a man around. Then again, maybe I won’t. Two big things I learned about myself over the past six years, since my ex left, are that A) I don’t need a man in my life, I’m perfectly happy being by single right now; and B) I’m smart enough to see the signs in my relationship that will determine whether it’s worth continuing. I know the red flags to look for to point out a possibly abusive relationship; and I know what I want in a relationship and have the guts to say “This isn’t working for me.”

Before you get all pissy, you may already be but I don’t care, every relationship has its ups and downs; it’s a given. I’ve never met one couple who didn’t argue about something at some point, or who didn’t have their share of problems, but the partied work it out. You people, the ones to whom I'm referring in this blog, just seem to be happy with all the fucking drama day in and day out. Frankly, it’s making me sick. You chose to be there; now choose to either work it out or get out. I’ve got friends like me, those who’ve been victims of DV, who did what they had to do to get the abusive spouse out of their lives; I know people who have had severe problems in their relationships and are genuinely trying to work things out together, and I know people who know what they want and are either in working relationships or have chosen to be single. You guys, however, are driving me up a fucking wall with all your “I just don’t know what to do anymore” bullshit.

This has gone of for too long so I’m going to tell you what to do – shit or get off the pot. You either truly love your mate and want to make things work, or you don’t. Yes, it is that simple. I don’t give a shit if you have kids – children are no reason to stay in a shitty relationship because kids can tell that things aren’t right in the household. I don’t care if you think you can’t support yourself without your spouse’s income. To that I say loudly “BULLSHIT!” If I can do it, you can too. There are resources around every corner; all you need to do is look for them.

The one excuse that really chaps my ass, though, is the unstated-but-very-loud “I just can’t stand being alone” crap. Are you fucking kidding me? You can’t stand being alone? Yes, you know who you are. My ex is like that; he can’t be alone for very long but he, at least, does have some time off between women. One of those in this group can’t be alone at all and moves from mate to mate and back again without giving any thought to the fact that those in the vicinity are getting fucked up because of it. That’s no good, especially when you spent so much time bitching about what a shit your on-again/off-again mate is. And, you’re starting to complain all over again, and you’ve only been back together for a couple of days. Damn! You people would all rather be in crappy relationships than be alone for a while and I don’t get it.

Anyway, I’m giving you fair warning here. I’ve had just about enough of your crap and I’m about to cut you all out of my life. I don’t need toxic people around me, especially since I’ve finally got my canoe floating downstream on a constant basis. I’ve cut people out of my life in the past and I have no problem doing it again. I absolutely love you all to death, but there is only so much I can take at this point. So, man-up, and do what needs to be done; make a choice one way or the other. I’ll absolutely support any decision you make 100% but I won’t continue to listen to your issues if you’re not willing to help yourselves. That being said, I’m going to find something fun to do while you mull over what I said.

Until next time…peace to all.

Sunday, April 24, 2011

Too Clean or Not Too Clean

I was watching a TV show today, doesn’t matter which one, and the lady of the house had drop-in guests. Guess what. Her house was in immaculate condition; perfectly cleaned and everything in its place. The guests were seated in the living room and she brought out a tray with the good china on it to serve coffee. Mind you, the guests, two men in their twenties, weren’t dressed up; they were wearing jeans and t-shirts. Does that warrant the good china? I guess so when it’s on TV. That’s one thing that has always puzzled me. Do scenes like this really happen on a daily basis when it’s not on television?

It always happens on soap operas. Not that I watch them, but I used to. Every now and again when I’m channel surfing I’ll pass by one and watch it for a minute or two and, wouldn’t you know it, the homes are always magazine cover perfect. No empty cups or dishes are on the tables in the living room, no toys on the floor, no pets roaming on the back of the sofa. That’s just not right. I can’t tell you how many shows and movies I’ve seen where drop-in guests were always welcomed with open arms; there was never any scrambling to tidy up quickly when the doorbell rang. Not even when the guest called minutes before arriving. Except on Roseanne, of course.

That’s one show where life imitated life. Roseanne didn’t break out the good china; they drank their coffee out of mugs. There were dirty dishes in the sink, and there were toys and school books in the living room. Her home looked like a home with a family in it; unless they were entertaining guests – new friends coming for dinner and whatnot. Then, of course, the house was cleaned beforehand but it was never made to look showroom perfect. Unlike the house I lived in as a kid.

My mom, whenever we were having company, would assign each of us – my sister, my dad, and me – to a different room and it was our responsibility to make sure it was perfectly clean well before time for our guests to arrive. I’d complain that she always wanted it to look too clean; I told her numerous times that people do live in the house and the people who were coming to visit had known us for years. They knew we lived there and that our house didn’t always look that way. Didn’t matter to my mother, though. The house had to be immaculate. That’s not the way it was when I had my own home.

In my townhome, with three kids, two cats and me, there were toys in the living room, dust on the furniture, my desk was always organized chaos, there were art supplies and unfinished drawings all over the kitchen table (Ty’s, of course), and any other number of things that indicated that a family actually resided in the home. Yes, I did clean the place; usually that was done on Fridays while the kids were in school, and so I could enjoy my weekends without having any chores to do. There were never any dirty dishes in the sink, though, that is a serious pet peeve of mine. Before I went to bed I’d actually wash the last glass I used during the day just so I wouldn’t wake up to a dirty glass in the sink.

I didn’t put on airs, though, pretending that my home was always in showroom condition. I didn't scramble around picking up this and that, or hurrying the kids to put their things away. Shit, if you dropped by, especially unannounced, you’d be lucky if I had anything but milk, water, or juice in the fridge. I don’t keep soda in the house so drop-ins generally didn’t have much of a choice. I don’t drink coffee so I didn’t have any in my house, nor did I have a coffee maker. I might offer a cup of tea but that would be served in a ceramic mug that may, or may not, have a matching mate in the cabinet.

My mother drank her coffee out of a mug unless we had company; then she just had to bring out the good cups with the saucers that actually matched the dinner plates –she didn’t put it on a tray to serve it, though, and nobody sat in the living room; everyone gathered in the kitchen. At least that was only semi-formal. I’ve got an entire set of dishes and I don’t think I’ve ever used the “good” cups and saucers. To Hell with that. Besides, you can fit more in a mug than in one of those tiny cups. And my friends carried their food, drinks, tea, or whatever, into whichever room they chose. We sat in the kitchen, the living room on the sofa, or they’d just pull a chair up to my desk and we’d sit there while we chatted.

I just don’t understand why television and movies portray houses as perfect when there are supposed to be families living in them. Seems a bit silly to me. Are we supposed to think that someone in the house actually cleans every day and makes sure that everything is put away properly? Even the Brady house wasn’t always ready for company, and they had Alice. The family room always had something in it that didn’t belong there; but the living room was usually tidy. And the kids’ rooms were always clean too. Yea, like that might actually happen. Six kids and everything was always put away after it was used. HAH!! I don’t think so.

But this is fiction, right? Think of all the shows and movies you’ve seen where there were kids in the household and how many of them ever showed a real mess in the kids’ rooms. Not many, I can tell you that. Yes, there are some out there; I just can’t recall any by name at this moment. Roseanne’s kids had messy rooms at times but right this second the Disney Channel is on showing “Good Luck, Charlie” and they’ve got two teenagers, a tween, and a toddler and there isn’t a mess in the living room, nor can I see any kid toys anywhere. Seriously?

I just don’t think I’d ever want to live like that. The way I see it is if you don't like the way my home looks, the door you walked in will also let you back out. Yes, I want my home to be neat and clean, and I would like my kids to actually pick up their belongings when they’re finished with them. Generally, before bedtime, I make sure they straighten up a bit, but I know they’ll never be neat freaks and I know I’ll always be on them to pick up and put away. I figure, as long as they know how to tidy up with me in the room, when they become adults they’ll know how to tidy up without me being there. I’m NOT going to college with them to give them their reminders, nor am I going to live like I'm afraid people might think I'm a slob. I'm not, but I'm also not a fanatic about cleaning. If you are, that's absolutely fine; you be you and I'll be me. J

I know this isn’t a huge issue in the World; I just thought I’d mention it. I couldn’t help it after watching that show today. I wasn’t even paying attention to the dialogue as much as I was looking around the room they were in, noticing just how clean everything looked. It just really hit me; I don’t know why, so stop asking. Anyway, this’ll give you something to think about for a little while, as least. Perhaps next time I’ll have something even better for you; perhaps not. I guess you’ll have to tune in to find out.

Until next time…peace to all.

Thursday, April 21, 2011

Just Me Being Me

How come I don’t have any talent? I sit here, night after night, watching Disney Channel with my kids and I see all these actors on the shows that have to know how to sing, dance, and play instruments. It’s a basic requirement to be able to work for Disney Channel but that’s beside the point. There are dozens of kids and adults who have some sort of amazing talent, and I don’t begrudge them that, but I have none. Hell, I can’t even write a story for kids. I don’t have a good imagination.

When I was in elementary school I tried learning the flute. Thought it would be nice to know how to play something but I just didn’t have the patience to practice like I was supposed to. In junior high we were required to play an instrument so I learned piano, but only enough that I could learn in the six weeks of the semester. I also tried playing guitar but that practice thing got in the way again. That was another six weeks of music and I never kept up with it. It just didn't interest me enough.

I know for a fact that I can’t sing and a lot of times I’ll deliberately sing really bad when I’m with the kids just so I can make them laugh. Ty tells me that I can sing but I think he’s just tone deaf and can’t tell the good from the bad. J Dancing is also not something that I’m really good at. I can keep a beat and I have fun when I hear something that I can dance to, but I’ve never had any lessons so “real” dancing isn’t in my repertoire. I have, on occasion, gotten out of the car and danced in the middle of the street to get the kids out of a funk, though. It works every time; they have to laugh watching me make an ass of myself. That I’m really good at.

I used to be able to draw. I spent a lot of time doing that and had some really good feedback on my artwork, especially in grade school. I drew all the time and was commissioned to draw posters and such. I don’t do that anymore, though. There was one time in grade school that I was supposed to write a story and I actually did. It was great too. It was about a family that was going on vacation in their van and the van went over a cliff. Sounds gruesome, right? Not really. At the end of the story you find out that the entire story was the imagination of a little boy playing with Matchbox cars. I got a really good grade on it but later got kicked out of Honors English in junior high because I couldn’t write in the WIF sandwich formula they required.

I don’t follow a formula when I write; I write whatever pops into my head – as you all know if you follow my blog. The WIF sandwich, however, was supposed to teach us to write with an opening, a body, and a closing. My writing doesn’t follow that and I couldn’t force it to. We also weren’t allowed to use the word ‘you’ when talking to the reader. If we did, the teacher circled it in red and wrote the word ‘piggy’ on our paper. What the fuck? The point was that ‘you’ was too broad a term and we were supposed to use words and phrases like ‘he or she’, ‘one’, and ‘a person.’ That sucked and as hard as I tried I always seemed to put ‘you’ in there at least once in every paper. So on to AB English I went where there were no writing formulas we had to use.

I still can’t write, though. I mean, I can write, but I can’t make up stuff. Like I said, I my imagination isn’t very imaginative. When I have to plan gifts for the kids to make, I Google ideas because I can’t come up with any on my own. I think I did once, maybe twice, but, for the most part, someone has to help me. Same with bedtime stories. I read them from books; I don’t make them up on the spot. I can write if you tell me what to write about but I don’t come up with my own ideas. I guess that’s why I stick to doing what I do; I help my friends who are writing books by proofreading and editing their work. That’s about the extent of my given talents when it comes to the arts. Otherwise, I’m just me, talentless and bland.

I’m not getting down on myself, don’t think that. I can do things. I can put together anything you give me – I love to build stuff; and I can research anything you want me to and get you the information, but those are also someone else’s ideas. I just think it would be nice to be able to come up with my own original idea and do something with it. Since I can’t sing, dance, or play an instrument, I would like to be able to just sit at my keyboard and have my ideas flow to the screen and be interesting enough for people to want to read. Yes, I have this blog but it’s basically for me to vent or just to occupy my time by putting my thoughts in print. You have to admit, it’s not very creative. Shit, there are millions of blogs out there and most of them get read a lot more than mine does.

Maybe if I had a standard topic to discuss every day it would be different. I don’t write about current events, movies, books, or anything else that would really interest the general public. I write about whatever happens to be on my mind that particular day. If I did have a standard topic, though, I’d probably get bored with it just like I did with the flute, piano, and guitar and it wouldn’t last very long. Then where would I be? I’ll tell you. I’d be sitting here wondering what I could do to occupy the time I used to spend blogging. That would certainly be no fun.

Maybe this is what I’m supposed to be doing. Maybe I’m just supposed to enjoy the wondrous talents of others and be content with my own little corner in the World. I guess I’m okay with that. I just sometimes wonder what it would be like to have a creative talent, whether I did anything with it or not. Just to be able to sit by myself and sing a song, on key, might be fun. Oh well, I am happy with who I am, and I like my life, and I like my little blog, regardless of how many people actually see it. It’s mine, and it’s who I am, and I’m pretty spectacular. I'm smart, funny, I have a great personality, and I'm a good person. Yep, I’m happy to be alive, and I appreciate all that I have and all that I am. Nothing wrong with that.

Until next time…peace to all.




Monday, April 18, 2011

Breaks and Laughter and Realignment

Sorry I haven’t been here lately but I’ve been having lots of alone time. My kids went to their dad’s on Friday evening and, even with Kara and her kids home, I’ve been by myself much of the weekend. I spent all day Saturday cleaning, and then Sunday I cleaned out Dolly’s dressers to get rid of the “I don’t like”s and the “This doesn’t fit”s so she can have more drawer space. I’d done all of the laundry before they left and only had one final load to do after I finished cleaning – you know, the stuff you find hidden in kids’ rooms under beds, between toy boxes, and all that. Once that was finished on Saturday I, quite literally, had nothing to do but watch TV or Netflix. I’ve been having a blast.

Don’t get me wrong; I miss the kids tremendously but I really needed a break. Just being able to sleep in my own bed without getting kicked in the leg or smacked in the face during the course of the night has been a pleasure. Of course, both cats still feel the need to sleep on me all night long, but they’re more than willing to readjust their positions when I move; unlike Dolly who fights me when I try to move her in her sleep. Regardless, I’ve been sleeping well, sleeping late, and just plain relaxing.

Tonight I spent about three hours watching stand-up on Netflix just because I felt like laughing. I watched “Bill Engvall: 15 Degrees Off Cool” which was hilarious; “Brian Regan: The Epitome of Hyperbole” which was alright, I’ve seen better from him; and “Jake Johannsen: I Love You” which had me laughing so hard I actually had to pause it for a few minutes so my stomach would stop hurting. I laughed until I had tears running and it was great.

I also had to laugh when I went out earlier to run a couple of errands. As I was leaving the house I saw one of those smart cars drive by and I bust out laughing every time I see one of them. Who gave these people permission to call that little tiny machine a car? Dolly’s plastic Barbie car is bigger than a smart car, and probably goes just as fast if you push it hard enough. They’re so tiny, though, that I don’t think anyone over 5’5” would be able to drive it comfortably. Imaging a dude over 6’ tall sitting in the driver seat. He’d be chewing his kneecaps while he was driving.

What would happen, too, if a person was in an accident in one of those things? If the accident was bad enough they’d just have to bury the whole car with the driver in it; the work it would take to get him or her out would take forever. I’m sorry but I can’t see myself driving a vehicle that I can wash in my bathtub. I think I’ll stick with Morrison, my mommy van. It’s a gas guzzler but at least I feel safe in it. It’s hard to rock out in Morrison, though; every time a great song comes on and I feel like bopping along, I feel like everyone watching me is pointing and laughing at the lady who obviously has kids – even if they’re not in the van it’s a given – trying to be cool. I do my best and just enjoy the ride. Hey, it’s all a part of living life to the fullest, right?

So I’ve been watching comedy, laughing at myself in my van, and just doing my thing while the kids are gone. They’ll be home tomorrow evening but Paul will be picking them up again on Friday for his first Easter weekend with them. What makes this coming weekend even better is that Kara and her kids will be gone from Wednesday evening until Monday. I’ll have the entire house to myself the entire weekend. Granted, I won’t spend any of my time upstairs, and I’ll have to tend to the dogs, but it’ll be the first time I’ll actually be completely alone in a long time. I’ll have to do some serious planning about what I want to watch, what I want to do. I’m sure I’ll have a little bit of cleaning to do after the kids leave on Friday, because they can definitely make a mess in just a couple of days, but after I’m done, I’ll be back to having nothing to do. I can’t wait. All the alone time just makes their arrival back home that much more fun. I miss their hugs and kisses and laughter, and them just being here.

But it’s been great for a few days and I think I’ve gotten myself realigned and my energy back on the positive setting. Everything seems to be running smoothly and all the negative crap that’s taken place I’ve been able to laugh at and put behind me. I’ll have to keep doing that because it just lightens my mood and makes me a better me. That’s all I can do, right? As long as I can keep it going, I know everything will be fine for us. It always is and it will continue to be, regardless of what steps in my way. Now, if I could only find a way to get what I want now rather than when the Universe decides, I’d be onto something. I’ll keep trying and just do the best I can with what I've got in the meantime.

Until next time…peace to all.

Thursday, April 14, 2011

Dollar Stores Rock

I don’t recall writing about this before but if I have it’s time for a repeat. I went to Dollar Tree today to get a couple of cards. I don’t usually buy cards but a friend had a death in her family and a card is in order. So I’m searching the cards and figured I’d only find one or two but I actually found so many that I had to read many of them before I could choose. I picked two and headed to the register, picking up a soda along the way. The cashier took my items, rung them up, and charged me $2.22. That seemed low to me but I didn’t question it.

I got in the van and looked at the receipt. Everything in Dollar Tree is only $1.00 or less regardless of any price that may be stamped on it. The cards I bought each had a printed price of over $2.00 on the back – one was about $2.25 and the other was $2.75, if I recall correctly. Anyway, the receipt showed that each card was only $.50. Cool; I always love a good bargain. Now here’s where my issue arrives. If Dollar Tree can charge me $.50 for a card that has a retail price of $2.75, why can’t everyone else do the same thing?

Dollar Tree is obviously making money or there wouldn’t be thousands of stores across the country. Granted, not everything in the store is superior quality, and I don’t go there to buy anything that I plan on keeping forever, however, I do a good bit of shopping there and have never really been disappointed with any of my purchases. They’ve got kitchen items, paper goods, party supplies, food, and a whole lot of other things that we use on a daily basis. They’ve even got Mylar occasion balloons that most of us pay a couple of dollars for in a regular party supply store. At Dollar Tree they’re only $1.00 each. Imagine that.

Now, my favorite discount store is Dollar General. When I was in MO I shopped there all the time. All the employees knew me, and the kids. I did a lot of shopping there for almost anything I needed. The closest Dollar General to me know is over in Union City, NJ, about 75 miles west of me. Obviously, I’m not driving that far for a bargain. So the next best thing for me is Dollar Tree. I tried Family Dollar but some of their prices are almost as high as Walmart (whose prices are getting higher and higher all the time), Kmart, or any other place out there. I only shop there occasionally.

Still, my question is, if Dollar Tree can sell common items for a dollar, why in the world are other stores allowed to overcharge for the exact same things? It just doesn’t make sense, does it? Now, the selection in Dollar Tree isn’t always the greatest, they don’t have dozens of the same item to choose from, but they always have what I need, when I need it.

In a pinch, I’ve run there to pick up mac & cheese for dinner, boxes are less than $1.00 each; the other day I bought brand-named pasts sauce there for $1.00 for the large jar, not a miniature; I buy large packages of napkins there, I buy wrapping paper, gift items, snacks for the kids, socks, hair care items and lots of other things – and I save money doing it. Why would I go to the supermarket and pay $3.00 or more for the same sauce I bought at Dollar Tree? Napkins just get thrown away so I’m not spending $4.00 on a package of them when I can buy two packages at Dollar Tree for half the price.

I think it’s a real shame that retailers are taking such advantage of us just to make money – especially with the economy the way it is. They’re not into helping anyone, I can tell you that. I applied for a job at Walmart a couple of months ago and they called me last week for an interview. After all was said and done they wanted to pay me $8.90/hr for a part-time position. That’s a whopping $1.65 over the minimum wage and I’ve got experience as a cashier in a retail setting. That wage wouldn’t pay for the before and after care I’d have to put the kids in just to work for Walmart. They want to pay me barely anything to work for them, but they’re not above overcharging me for any item I purchase, right?

Maybe if we all just started shopping at dollar stores for a while, and stopped shopping anywhere else, many places would bring their prices down to a reasonable amount. It’s a nice idea but I doubt I could get enough people to actually participate to make a difference. So many people are just stuck on getting what they always get from where they always get it. “Oh, I can’t buy my toilet paper from the dollar store; I’ve just got to have Angel Soft and they don’t carry that brand at Dollar Tree.” So what? Use something less expensive for a while by buying it at a dollar store and maybe, just maybe, Kmart won’t continue charging $9.00 for twelve rolls of Angel Soft.

No, you can’t buy milk or bread at Dollar Tree, but you can buy them at Family Dollar and Dollar General; and I’m sure at other dollar stores that I don’t even know exist. I’m not saying we ought to do every single bit of our shopping at dollar stores, but if we spent a few months buying our most common items there, the larger retail chains would have to lower their prices just to get our business back. It’s worth a shot, but, again, I doubt too many people would even do it.

So, I guess I’m just stuck complaining about it and I’ll just continue saving my money where I can and I’ll let everyone else do what they choose to do. But, hey, don’t complain to me when you spend too much on something that I got at the bargain price of $1.00. Until we can all agree not to overspend, the large retailers will continue ripping us off every chance they get. I’m just one person, so I’ll do my thing and everyone else can do theirs. Maybe someday we’ll have a meeting of the minds. Until then I’m going to Dollar Tree every chance I get; until I recruit Dollar General to open stores on Long Island, that is.

Until next time…peace to all.



Tuesday, April 12, 2011

I'm In My Now...

I’m in my Now and my night is on track. Ty is asleep in his bed; Dolly and Zach are both in mine watching a movie, although Zach will be going back to his bed shortly. Zach is only in here because it was Ty’s night to pick what they watch on TV and Zach didn’t like Ty’s choice. Since Ty is now sleeping, Zach will be returning to his room as soon as I’m finished here. I’m going to write this blog, check in on Facebook one more time, then turn in for the night.

I’m in my Now and my day went just as it was supposed to go. I got the kids ready for school this morning, got myself showered, then spent my morning looking for work and watching “Supernatural” reruns. I also wrapped Dolly’s gifts – today is her fifth birthday and I had everything hidden until I could get them wrapped and ready for her. I went out at noon to pick up her cake, get her from school, then return to the supermarket with her so we could get whatever she wanted for her birthday dinner. She chose hot dogs, mac and cheese, and kielbasa with sauerkraut. Typical child birthday dinner.

I’m in my Now and my week is going just as planned according to the Universe. A friend I haven’t spoken to in a while has been trying to call me but we’re playing phone tag. We’ve emailed and sent private messages over Facebook but haven’t spoken verbally. It’s my belief that we’re supposed to talk but the Universe doesn’t want us talking just yet. Same thing happened to me when I met my spiritual mentor, Michelle Moe, a few years ago.

I met her at CAPA when she was giving a “Law of Attraction” lesson to us parents. For some reason she zoned in on me and gave me her card as she left, requesting that I call her. I never did because I didn’t know her or why she’d want to speak to me. Well, she returned to CAPA the next week to finish the lesson and smilingly chastised me because I hadn’t called her. From that moment on we’ve been great friends and she’s the one I turn to when I need a spiritual uplifting or a verbal ass kicking. I don’t know why I’m supposed to talk to this other friend, but I do know he and I are supposed to connect for some reason. I guess I’ll find out what that is when the Universe allows it to happen.

I also spoke with my friend Joe yesterday just to catch up since we hadn’t spoken in a few days. We speak all the time but there are occasions when we go for days without speaking. It happens to us all, and I know there’s a reason behind it. It does remind me that I need to call Ellen, too, and that will also be done. As well, the rest of my week is falling into place as it’s designed to. I’m running my errands, getting things done, and waiting for the next big surprise from the Universe to come my way.

I’m in my Now and my life is going just as planned. There is a fabulous work-at-home job opportunity coming my way. I know it is. I’m just waiting on the phone call or email to arrive that will spell out all the details and I’ll be on my way to great things. There is also a wonderful home out there waiting for my kids and me to get there and move into it. I’m waiting for those details to arrive, too; and I know they will because I’m in my Now and that’s what supposed to happen.

I’m in my Now and the World is as it’s supposed to be for me. My positive energy is swirling faster than I can imagine and I’m not resisting. I’m letting go of the oars and floating downstream because I’ve asked and it will be given. Everything always works out for me and I am letting myself gravitate toward that which I’ve become because I’m doing what feels better. I’m just staying in the moment and letting my energy do what it needs to do. I’m in my Now and all is serene because it is what it is. I can accept that and I'm happy.

Until next time…peace to all.

Friday, April 8, 2011

Still Laughing At This One

I wasn’t going to write about this but I have to because…well, because I’m me and I just can’t stop myself. It’s just so ridiculous. I was watching TV with the kids tonight and, at 9:00 I told the boys to go to bed and Dolly to go to sleep – which she actually did, by the way – because I wanted to watch my new favorite program and it’s not for kids. It was “Supernatural” but that’s beside the point; I’m sure you’re tired of hearing about it already. Oops. J So I was watching the show and a commercial came on that caught my attention.

Now, commercials don’t usually catch my attention and I rarely ever take note of what the product being sold is. This one didn’t catch enough of my attention that I can even remember the tag line but the product is in my head and won’t leave. I’m going to share it with you, and perhaps you’ve heard of it, perhaps not; and I’m probably going to sound really critical of it but, again, that’s just me. The commercial was for a product that now comes in designer colors to make all women happy. It was for maxi pads. Did you hear me? MAXI PADS that come in designer colors.

There were pretty little patterns all over the plastic wrap each pad comes in, and also on the sticky-sided covering of the pads themselves. On the absorbent side there were also designs, although not in colors, but the designs were there nonetheless. Are you fucking kidding me? Is this really necessary? Do we really need maxi pads in designer patterns and colors now? Or is this just a way to keep from firing the now-useless creative department of the production company?

Honestly, I’m wondering who came up with this idea, and how they actually decided that this is what we women want. Did they survey women as they walked down the street asking them if they’d prefer a plain, white or pink pad or something more colorful? Did they have a test group actually try the pads to see what the users’ reactions would be? These are feminine hygiene products, folks. Who needs them in designer colors? Nobody but the user ever sees them so what difference does it make?

Are there women standing in bathrooms together – we all know women go in groups – complaining because their current pads are boring and unimaginative? Are they wishing they had pads that would match their panties? If so, I want to know why. It’s a disposable product that gets used once and tossed in the garbage. To me it’s along the same lines as napkins and toilet paper that have designs on them. Sure, they look nice before they’re used but afterward the design doesn’t really mean much, does it? This is one of the most ludicrous things I think I’ve ever seen.

I, for one, don’t give a shit what color my pad is as long as it does the job correctly. I don’t need fancy designs or fancy colors on it. It’s not like I’m going to call all my female friends and discuss my latest find. “Oh, I’ve just got to tell you about the new maxi pads I just bought. They’re so pretty; pink and purple with little butterflies all over them. I just know I’ll feel really giddy the next time I need to use one. I’m so excited I hope my period comes early this month.” BLECH!!! Seriously?!

But just think, the next time you’re walking down the street and you see a woman who’s in a seriously great mood, smile on her face, bounce in her step, she could be really excited that her maxi pad doesn’t clash with her outfit. You may also run into women in bathrooms, chattering excitedly, taking pads out of their pocketbooks comparing the different designs they each bought; perhaps even trading occasionally the way kids do with baseball or Pokémon cards. Now that would be a sight and, if I ever come across a scene like that, I might just have to throw something at them.

I just can’t believe that women are so shallow that they really care about having designer feminine products. No offense if you do but, if that’s the case, you really need to reprioritize. I’m sure you can think of a hundred things you need that are more important than pretty pads. If you can’t, then you deserve to pay the extra $3.00 a box they’re probably going to charge you just for putting flowers and squiggles on something you’ll throw away after using it for three hours. I’ll think I’ll save my money on this one.

Until next time…peace to all.

Thursday, April 7, 2011

"Supernatural" and Other Stuff

Okay, so today I found out that the kids all have spring break the same week. Someone needs to get their head out of their ass. Last calendar I saw for the boys said the week of the 25th. At least they can visit their dad if they want to and I won’t have to take Dolly out of school. Plus, I’ll have them all for one week instead of having one home one week and two home the next. Now I just get to have all five of them – my three and Kara’s two –  home at the same time; same amount of fighting, just all compacted into one week. J

I also applied for a per diem job at Dolly’s school. I believe I mentioned that a couple of days ago. Anyway, I got all the paperwork in and Kara and I looked into the before and after care at the boys’ schools. Guess what? After all is said and done, I’ll be paying the school to work there. Because of the cost of the before care and after care I’ll be left with about $30, which will pay for three day’s worth of gas. I’ll actually have to pay the other $20 in gas out of pocket. That’s not the way this is supposed to work is it? I didn’t think so.

I spoke with the director today and told her about my findings and she agreed to put me on the schedule so I won’t need the before and after care for the boys. I’ll just go in after the boys get on their buses, and I’ll leave to be home in time for them to get off the buses. That’s better but not great. Hey, I’ll take it for now. I’m also waiting for a law office to call me, too. I mentioned that also, right? My family advocate at Dolly’s school gave my résumé to her daughter who works for a law firm and they’re supposed to be calling people soon. I’m hanging in there waiting for that breakthrough phone call. I know it’ll be here any day now.

Meantime, I’m just plugging along and keeping up with my “Supernatural” episodes. They ticked me off this morning because, even though they play back-to-back episodes in the morning, the second episode today was a “to be continued” episode so I have to wait until tomorrow to see the ending. I don’t like that. Don’t they know I’m sitting here, alone, on the edge of my seat, mesmerized by the show? Don’t they know that I have to know what going to happen immediately? Don’t they know I’m hooked on this show and want to see all the episodes back-to-back-to-back-to-back until I’m caught up to this week’s new episode?

What’s wrong with them? Someone needs to tell them. I’d do it myself but I don’t know how. Maybe I’ll do some research later to find out how to contact the TV station and put in my request. They don’t have to show every episode to everyone; just me. I’m not asking for much, I don’t think. They can just give me a direct line to the station, or maybe even invite me there and present me with my own personal “Supernatural” marathon. That would be nice although it might not work out for me, time wise. I definitely wouldn’t make it back in time for the kids’ buses.

You know what? I have a great idea. If Paul takes the kids for a few days over their break I can do it then. I’ll wear some comfy pjs and pack some snacks and just head on over to the TV station for a few days. I’m sure they have a cot around, right? Don’t execs sometimes sleep in their offices and stuff like that? I’m sure they do; and it probably won’t be a problem for them to set me up with my request, right? Okay, stop laughing at me; I know I’m just wishfully thinking. But, hey, it’s a great show and I love it. If you’re into that kind of thing you ought to check it out when you get the chance; if you haven’t already, that is. Not only is it exciting with all the boogums and monsters and such; but the main characters – Sam and Dean – are too funny sometimes. Not only do I get the fun thrill of being scared, but I get to laugh at the same time. I can’t wait for tomorrow morning’s episodes.

Right now, though, I’m signing off because Dolly won’t go to sleep unless I lie down with her tonight. I don’t know why; you’d have to ask her. When I get her to sleep I’ve got other things to do before I can go to bed tonight and it all just crept up on me while I was writing tonight’s blog. So, have a blast at whatever you may be doing and I’ll be back soon.

Until next time…peace to all.


Wednesday, April 6, 2011

Happy but Bored

Were you just ever sitting around wanting to do something but not knowing what to do? That’s what I’m feeling right now. Dolly is asleep in my bed and the boys are in their room watching TV. I want to do something besides watch TV but can’t think of anything to do. I don’t have too many options because I have to keep the lights off. The only light on right now is the glow from the TV, the computer screen, and Dolly’s rotating butterfly night light. That’s really not enough light to see to do anything productive.

If I try to read, if I can come up with enough light, I’ll fall asleep almost instantly and that won’t work for me. I can’t go to sleep this early – it’s 10:00 by me – or I’ll be awake at 4:00 in the morning. So that’s a no-go. I also can’t write anything, journaling or otherwise, because I don’t really have the space. My desk is way too small to fit any sort of notebook on it and trying to write on my lap will only cause back problems. Don’t want that to happen. So here I sit trying to figure out what I can do tonight. If I was a writer for a movie or TV this wouldn't be an issue. I could sit here and have fun making up stuff. I could write a book, too, but I don't feel like it right now. Not that it would be done tonight, of course, but it would give me something to think about and an activity to occupy my time.

Lately I’ve been watching back episodes of “Supernatural” on TV in the mornings but they’re showing season two, I think. So I’ve been streaming the episodes in order from season one on the computer trying to catch up with the last five years worth of episodes. I so wish I’d known the show was on back in 2005. I’d have seen every episode by now. I blame my friend who got me hooked on it a couple of months ago. Thanks Tim. Anyway, I don’t much feel like watching any of those episodes tonight; kinda like I don’t want to watch TV right now. So my only option was to come on here and gripe about not having anything to do. Aren’t you sorry you joined me on this one? J

I did get some ugly news today. Nothing that can’t be handled, just something that irks me. See, all the kids get spring break in April. The boys’ school calendar says the break is the week of the 25th. Okay. Since my ex isn’t working right now (out due to health concerns, remember) I offered him to take the kids for a couple of days during the spring break it he’s still not working by then. It’ll be an extended weekend or whatever. Then I got the news today. Dolly has her spring break the week before the boys. She goes to school in a different district than the boys – which I keep forgetting – so their break isn’t at the same time. That sucks.

That means I’ll have her with me all week during her break, and the boys will be in school; then the boys will be home with me while Dolly has to go to school. I still offered my ex to take them for extra days; I’ll just take Dolly out of school for a day or two to accommodate it. The school will live; it’s only pre-k. And I’m sure the kids would enjoy the time with their dad. Provided he’s not being a dick, that is. You all know how he can be at times.

If he can’t take them, however, I’ll be pulling my hair out at the roots. I love my kids with every ounce of my being, but to have two full weeks with them home constantly will make me insane. Dolly always wants 100% of my attention when she’s here with me so I barely get anything done. The boys don’t want as much of my attention but they spend their time going back and forth between being buds and fighting with each other. If Kara’s boys are here that sometimes adds to it; there are times when all five kids are fighting and it sounds like a crowd at an NFL game, the noise is so loud.

I guess it’ll all work out as it’s supposed to; it always does. Right now I’m just going to finish up here and try to find something more interesting than Disney Channel to watch. Maybe there’ll be a good episode or two of “House Hunters” on HGTV; maybe not. I’ll check it out since I can’t think of anything else to do, and if I fall asleep too early I’ll get to watch reruns of “Full House” at 4:00 tomorrow morning. I did that the other day and it wasn’t exactly fun, but I got through it.

Enough of my griping now. I do hope you all have a great day, evening, or whatever depending upon what time you’re reading this. I’ll be back later with something more interesting, I hope, and perhaps we’ll all be entertained.

Until next time…peace to all.



Friday, April 1, 2011

Positive Is As Positive Does

I’m writing early tonight because…well, because I can. My ex decided to pick up the kids after all. He texted me yesterday, as per my request, to get Zach’s party information. That was my first hint. Today he texted me to find out what when they’d all be home from school. I told him 4:30 would be fine for him to get them. His response: “Ok, will do. Thank you.” Imagine that. He actually said ‘thank you’ to me. That doesn’t happen often but on the occasions where he realizes I’ve taken back the control he wanted he’s more than willing to submit to being a decent person. I’m happy.

I’m also happy because I’ve had a really good couple of days. Yes, I was pissed at my ex for his behavior but that ended when my blog that night was finished. And sure, the kids and I have had our ups and downs – Zach’s been in a mood since his dad still hasn’t scheduled personal one-on-one time with him – but we’ve gotten over the bumps. I haven’t even had to raise my voice, which is a really good thing. I haven’t raised my voice to them in a long while. Instead, I just speak in a really low tone and that gets their attention straight up; they know Mama’s angry and they do the right thing. YEA ME!

That’s not the only reason my days have been going well. I had given my résumé to my family advocate at Dolly’s school about two weeks ago, per her request, because her daughter works for a personal injury attorney. She thought they may need some extra help. Turns out, the company is planning on opening a new office and will be hiring. According to the family advocate, the attorneys will be looking at résumés next month. I’m hoping that means April and not May. Personal injury law is not what I really want but if it gets my foot in the door as a paralegal, I’m willing to go for it. Whatever it takes.

I’ve also been doing the Esther Hicks Law of Attraction 30-day workbook and am on day 26 today. Things have been going really well since I started it. I’ve done it twice before, a couple of years ago, and figured I needed another go-round. I may even do it a fourth time when I’m finished in a few days. Things have been looking so positive that I figure another kick in the ass of positive energy won’t hurt.

Another good thing is that a friend of mine, my spiritual mentor, is writing a book and I’m editing it for her. We’re doing it page by page and it will take a while, but I’m really excited about it. Not that I’m a professional editor or anything, but she’s got a learning disability so her writing skills are far from what they ought to be. I just go through and correct grammar, punctuation, and spelling. I even rearrange her text, re-write her text, or delete what doesn’t need to be there. Between the two of us, we’ll be able to come up with something that can be published. I think it’ll be a fun experience for both of us.

Everything is just falling into place for me these past couple of days. The other day on Facebook, I made a random post about the workbook and the virtual money I have to spend. Two of my friends responded with ideas of how I could spend the money. Funny thing is that I’d already spent the money on those exact things. Earlier that morning, while I was in the shower – it’s where I get my best ideas – I’d been thinking of my friend’s book (she had previously mentioned it to me) and how I would edit so as not to lose the essence of her words. Right after I had responded to my friends’ comments on Facebook about the virtual money, my book friend called me and wanted to discuss beginning the book project with me. WOW!! If that isn’t everything coming into alignment I don’t know what is.

When I mentioned it to one of the previously-mentioned Facebook friends, she replied to my email and freaked me out even more. She said that just the night before she’d been reading an article about self-publishing books on Kindle, and then her thoughts moved to me and the book friend. Then she said that she may want to write a book and would like me to edit it. Alright then; works for me. I love reading and writing so editing on the side is definitely something I can get into for some spare change.

Right now I’m sitting here talking to you folks just waiting for a show that I want to watch to start. I’ve got about a half hour and I’m pretty excited about it. It’s not a new show and I’m annoyed that I didn’t know it was on five years ago. It was only brought to my attention by another friend a couple of months ago. The show is “Supernatural” and I’ve started watching the repeats of old episodes in the mornings. It plays back-to-back at 10:00 and 11:00 and I’m hooked on it. I’m also trying to go all the way back to the beginning so I can catch up completely. It’s a really good show that I don’t get to watch when my kids are here because they’ve got control of the TVs. Tonight, though, I get to watch a new, recent episode at its regular time.

So everything for me is going really well. I supposed it is for my friends, too, and I’m happy about that. Ellen is supposed to have surgery next week for problems with her foot. I’m really excited for her because she’s been in a lot of pain for a long time and she deserves to feel better. Sending positive energy her way. Tracy and her husband just bought a house and are going to be moving in a few weeks, plus Tracy is starting on a new business venture as well as rekindling a friendship. Positive thoughts go her way too. I’ve already mentioned that another friend is writing a book, and another might. All positive things.

It seems that everywhere I look these days there is just lots of positive energy flowing around me and all those who are close to me. I couldn’t be happier and, as long as I can keep my positive energy flowing, my kids are in alignment and we all have good days. I couldn’t ask for more. I’m just going to keep things going the way they are and see what happens. I can’t wait to see what wonderful, exciting things the Universe has in store for us, and I’m sure they’ll unfold when they’re supposed to, just as they’re meant to be. What a wonderful place I’m in; and I intend to stay here.

Until next time…peace to all.