Wednesday, April 6, 2011

Happy but Bored

Were you just ever sitting around wanting to do something but not knowing what to do? That’s what I’m feeling right now. Dolly is asleep in my bed and the boys are in their room watching TV. I want to do something besides watch TV but can’t think of anything to do. I don’t have too many options because I have to keep the lights off. The only light on right now is the glow from the TV, the computer screen, and Dolly’s rotating butterfly night light. That’s really not enough light to see to do anything productive.

If I try to read, if I can come up with enough light, I’ll fall asleep almost instantly and that won’t work for me. I can’t go to sleep this early – it’s 10:00 by me – or I’ll be awake at 4:00 in the morning. So that’s a no-go. I also can’t write anything, journaling or otherwise, because I don’t really have the space. My desk is way too small to fit any sort of notebook on it and trying to write on my lap will only cause back problems. Don’t want that to happen. So here I sit trying to figure out what I can do tonight. If I was a writer for a movie or TV this wouldn't be an issue. I could sit here and have fun making up stuff. I could write a book, too, but I don't feel like it right now. Not that it would be done tonight, of course, but it would give me something to think about and an activity to occupy my time.

Lately I’ve been watching back episodes of “Supernatural” on TV in the mornings but they’re showing season two, I think. So I’ve been streaming the episodes in order from season one on the computer trying to catch up with the last five years worth of episodes. I so wish I’d known the show was on back in 2005. I’d have seen every episode by now. I blame my friend who got me hooked on it a couple of months ago. Thanks Tim. Anyway, I don’t much feel like watching any of those episodes tonight; kinda like I don’t want to watch TV right now. So my only option was to come on here and gripe about not having anything to do. Aren’t you sorry you joined me on this one? J

I did get some ugly news today. Nothing that can’t be handled, just something that irks me. See, all the kids get spring break in April. The boys’ school calendar says the break is the week of the 25th. Okay. Since my ex isn’t working right now (out due to health concerns, remember) I offered him to take the kids for a couple of days during the spring break it he’s still not working by then. It’ll be an extended weekend or whatever. Then I got the news today. Dolly has her spring break the week before the boys. She goes to school in a different district than the boys – which I keep forgetting – so their break isn’t at the same time. That sucks.

That means I’ll have her with me all week during her break, and the boys will be in school; then the boys will be home with me while Dolly has to go to school. I still offered my ex to take them for extra days; I’ll just take Dolly out of school for a day or two to accommodate it. The school will live; it’s only pre-k. And I’m sure the kids would enjoy the time with their dad. Provided he’s not being a dick, that is. You all know how he can be at times.

If he can’t take them, however, I’ll be pulling my hair out at the roots. I love my kids with every ounce of my being, but to have two full weeks with them home constantly will make me insane. Dolly always wants 100% of my attention when she’s here with me so I barely get anything done. The boys don’t want as much of my attention but they spend their time going back and forth between being buds and fighting with each other. If Kara’s boys are here that sometimes adds to it; there are times when all five kids are fighting and it sounds like a crowd at an NFL game, the noise is so loud.

I guess it’ll all work out as it’s supposed to; it always does. Right now I’m just going to finish up here and try to find something more interesting than Disney Channel to watch. Maybe there’ll be a good episode or two of “House Hunters” on HGTV; maybe not. I’ll check it out since I can’t think of anything else to do, and if I fall asleep too early I’ll get to watch reruns of “Full House” at 4:00 tomorrow morning. I did that the other day and it wasn’t exactly fun, but I got through it.

Enough of my griping now. I do hope you all have a great day, evening, or whatever depending upon what time you’re reading this. I’ll be back later with something more interesting, I hope, and perhaps we’ll all be entertained.

Until next time…peace to all.



No comments:

Post a Comment