Tuesday, December 21, 2010

It's Not Sunday Yet

I finally got my money. I called CSE again today and despite what their website says my money was only disbursed yesterday. I figured I’d get it in my account sometime tonight but it actually showed up at about 10:00 this morning. Whew!! I had so much shopping to do today that I was getting really irritated. No matter; I got everything I needed except for one last thing for Ty for Christmas. Kara is out right now picking that up along with some other things she needs. When she gets home I’ll be finished and ready for the holiday.

While I was out shopping I picked up the supplies I needed to have the kids make their gifts for their dad. We had three glass vases here so I figured they could decoupage them with some colored tissue paper. We did those tonight and when they’re dry tomorrow we may have to do just a little touching up on them. Otherwise they look really great; the kids did an awesome job on them. So that’s another thing done.

Tomorrow Kara and I have to get the house cleaned and in order because she does Christmas dinner here with her family. We’ve still got decorating stuff all over the place and the family room has a lot of her boys’ toys in it. All of that has to go so we can get to dusting and vacuuming and all the rest. She’s going into panic mode about it but I told her we’d get everything done in time for us to have one night to relax. I still have “What About Bob?” from Netflix here that we want to watch so maybe that’ll be our treat for all the hard work we’ve been doing over the past couple of weeks.

Thursday Dolly and I will attend Ty’s holiday party – she’s out of school after tomorrow – and then I have to get them ready to go to their dad’s house for the holiday. Thursday night I’ve got my usual Christmas tradition: I talk to Joe on the phone while I wrap gifts. He’s stayed up with me for the past couple of years while I sat in my basement in MO. We chat while I wrap. This year, though, I’ll be able to sit on my bed and Skype with him while I wrap. It’ll be fun and that’ll be the last thing I need to do to get ready for the weekend. Aahhh, the joyof being able to sit and relax and do absolutely nothing for a day or so; I can’t wait. Of course I’ll be helping Kara get dinner ready on Saturday but it’s simple so we won’t be frantic.

This time of year just really gets me anxious and I spend a lot of time on edge. I just don’t like all the hype over the holidays and the constant running and shopping and crowds and traffic. It all just gets to be too much. Call me a Scrooge but I don’t care. I just wish people wouldn’t take the holidays so seriously and try to one-up their friends and family by having to see who can buy the most expensive/popular/up-to-date gifts. Yes, we all like nice things, but why the big demand to see just how much money we can spend? Honestly, the most expensive gift I bought my kids was $20. They don’t care. I’m sure that, when they get older, they’ll want gifts that cost a lot more but I’m teaching them that the value of a gift is not as important as the thought behind the gift. Hence the fact that they’ve always made gifts for their dad.

However, it is what it is and I can’t single-handedly change things. I’ll just have to deal with it and move through the holidays as best as I can. Since I’ve had such a busy day today, and since I have an even busier day tomorrow, I’ll stop griping and go relax for a while before I go to bed. I do hope you’re all getting done with what you need to be prepared for the holidays. They’ll be over soon enough and we can all relax. I can almost hear a Universal sigh of relief. Listen closely and you’ll hear it too. Shhhh…

Until next time…peace to all.

No comments:

Post a Comment