I woke up expecting to have a great day today. I had some Christmas shopping to do this morning and Zach’s grade was having its Winter Games. I got the shopping done – YEA; and attended the Winter Games. It was just six different game stations set up around two classrooms where the kids got to do a craft or play some sort of game with a parent, if one attended. I was there and so was my ex. I know you’re asking why he was there. According to our divorce agreement he’s entitled to be informed of school functions and he has the right to attend. No biggie. But afterward he had to turn everything to shit just by being himself.
I’m not going into details; just suffice it to say that his attitude sucks and his idea of trying to be a decent human being sucks even more. He even tried to carry his bullshit toward me into the evening but I’m not going to let it upset me. The more I discuss it or think about it the more power I give to it and I choose to live my life ex-stress free. So be it. I did have a great day getting things done and spending time with Zach at his school. I’m also happy that my kids have a dad who sees them on a regular basis, pays his child support, and is willing to help out in other ways when it’s asked of him. That’s a lot more than some dads do. There are some who couldn’t care less that they even have children, and some who just don’t seem to do the right thing regardless of the fact that they have children.
One friend in particular is going through a very rough time right now with her ex, and my heart goes out to her and her daughter. I wish there was something I could do to help make things right but I can’t. I don’t even know that I have the words to shed a positive light on anything. All I can do is listen, and I know I can do that. I feel so sad for her daughter because all children need a father and it looked as if he would do the right thing by her for a while. Apparently it was just a short while. Now he’s screwed things up terribly and his daughter is the one who’ll ultimately be hurt by his actions. It happens and we can’t change it. She’ll have to live with her dad’s mistakes the way my kids have to live with their dad’s mistakes.
Eventually all the children will be old enough to understand what happened in the past and can then make decisions based on what they know. Until then all we can do is see them through it the best we know how. We’ll give them lots of love and guidance and we’ll dry their tears, and listen to their questions, and help them become the best people they can be in spite of everything that’s happening to them. It’s what we, as single mothers, have to do. I know it’s a part of my life and I there isn’t anything I wouldn’t do for my kids. I’m doing what I can do for them; my friends are doing what they can for their kids; and all of our children are and always will be spectacular.
To my dear friend, I know things are really hard right now but, rest assured, they will get better and baby girl will be fine with your love and support; and you’ll be fine too. I’m sure of it. Please know that I’m with you in positive support even if I can’t be there in person. You’re both in my thoughts and prayers.
Until next time…peace to all.
Where Have I Been?
-
It's hard to believe it's been so long since I've posted anything....but
that's how I roll. It's been about a year. So much has happened in a
year. Some...
11 years ago

No comments:
Post a Comment