Sunday, December 5, 2010

Just Another Sunday

I can’t believe I spent an entire Sunday afternoon with all five kids and there wasn’t one fight amongst them. Three of the boys played together all day, Ty played by himself, and Dolly hung with me most of the day. She’s not feeling well so she just wanted her mommy. Ty played in the living room, the three other boys played down here in my boys’ room, and Dolly and I watched TV in the family room. All was quiet. It was actually really pleasant. Usually there is one fight after another, so today was really nice.

I didn’t get anything done, because Dolly wouldn’t let me do anything without her by my side so I just did nothing all day. Not all day, I did get three loads of laundry folded and put away for us. That’s always nice considering I can’t stand the clutter when it’s just sitting in the baskets. I put “21 Jump Street” on Netflix and sat on my bed folding clothing for over an hour. Yes, I could’ve folded faster but then I wouldn’t have had the quiet time by myself had I rushed through it.

Tomorrow I don’t know what I have to do. We’ve got another “get to school” issue because Kara has a funeral to attend in Bayside, over an hour away, so she has to leave before anyone gets on a bus. I figure I’ll put the first two boys on their bus then load the other three kids in the van and get Dolly to school. If I’m not back in time to put the other two boys on their bus, I’ll just drive them to school. The boys’ schools are only minutes away so I should get them there in plenty of time to eat breakfast.

After that I’ve got the house to myself again. Maybe I’ll be able to locate some attorneys and send out resumes to get an internship or part-time entry level position somewhere. My obstacle is the hours I’m available to work right now. But money is money so I guess I can’t complain as long as I get something. Right? The hard part will be convincing someone that I can do the job and that he or she should take a chance on me. I can do it; send positive vibes my way for a little extra help, please and thanks.

I also need to catch up on phone calls. I haven’t had time to call anyone lately and have only even spoken to Joe once in the past couple of weeks. I don’t know where my time goes. When I lived in MO I had time to call my friends every day; and I was an hour behind everyone. Maybe that’s why. Now that I’m in the same time zone, when I finally get free time to call anyone, it’s too late. Right now it’s 10:30 and I still haven’t made my to-do list for tomorrow, or coordinated my day with Kara’s other than the school issue. By the time we finish it’ll be around midnight and that’s definitely too late to call anyone.

I need to organize my time better so I can get everything done that I need to do and still leave enough time to do some things that I want to do. I miss my friends and really need to catch up with them all. As much as I like being busy, I miss having free time during the day. When I start working I’ll really be strapped for time because everything I usually do during the day will have to be put off until the evenings. Such is life; I’ve done it before and I can do it again. Gotta run, now, though. Need to get some more things done before I turn in so I’ll check in again tomorrow. Hope you all have a wonderful day.

Until next time…peace to all.

No comments:

Post a Comment