Sunday, January 30, 2011

Blah, Blah, Blah

I haven’t been here in a couple of days because I haven’t gotten down here at night with enough time to write anything. Been upstairs watching movies with Kara and her dude. By the time the movie is over, it’s almost midnight and I’m not sitting up until 1:00 in the morning writing, especially when there hasn’t been much to say that’s all that exciting. Last Tuesday I was discussing pulling myself out of my funk, which I’m working on, but I still haven’t been to the store to get notebooks to start the 30-day workbook. I’ll do that as soon as I remember it.

Then Wednesday we had a monster snowstorm. It wasn’t supposed to start snowing until after 10:00 in the morning but it started early. I drove Dolly to school and the streets were already starting to get covered. I actually sat in a parking lot debating whether or not to turn around and pick her up from school or just leave her. I left her but asked Kara if she would pick up Dolly at the end of the day, or earlier if they closed schools. I don’t mind driving in snow but I had to take Kara’s car since her dude’s van was blocking mine in the driveway, and I’m not crazy about driving someone else’s car in the snow. As much as I drive Kara’s car, I still wasn’t happy about going in the snow, especially since the road Dolly’s school is on doesn’t get cleared very well, if at all. It’s a narrow road with heavy traffic and I just don’t trust other people in that kind of weather.

Anyway, we waited all day to see if schools would let out early; they didn’t. So we waited all evening to see if schools would be closed the next day. Remember, last time we had a snow storm they had it posted and I got the Parent-Link phone call at 8:00 the night before. Not last week. We got the kids ready for bed and went through our usual routines. At 5:30 Thursday morning the phone rang with the Parent-Link message saying school was closed for the day. What sucks is that they have both of our cell phone numbers and the house phone number. Kara gets the call on her cell, then the house phone rings, then my cell phone rings. Then we get an email. Okay, whatever.

So we spent the day outside with the kids. Kara’s man made the kids a huge sledding slide in our front yard. I’ve mentioned that our driveway is a hill, and so is the front yard, of course. It’s huge. So he built them a slide from the top of the yard, just outside the front door, all the way down to the bottom of the yard. Then we dug a trench-like stopping point so the kids would stop easily. There was a wall of snow about five feet wide between our stopping point and the street, and the trench was dug on the inner side of that wall. When the kids reached the bottom they, sort of, dropped into a tiny ditch. It was safe for them and one of us was standing at the bottom waiting, just in case. The kids had a blast and the grownups had a lot of laughs.

Friday was school as usual and my kids went with their dad for the weekend. I spent Saturday and Sunday helping Kara’s boys build Lego stuff, and helping her dude do projects around the house. Kara’s not allowed in the area where we’re working because she hovers and questions everything. Beau (not his real name, of course) tells her to stay away and let us do what we have to do. She doesn’t mind because she knows her OCD gets in our way.

Anyway, that’s why I haven’t been here. I’ve been busy during the days, and relaxing at night, and nothing exciting has really happened. I’ve been doing a lot of thinking and planning about things and am trying to make some decisions and changes but I’ll fill you in on those as they happen. Meantime, I’ll be here, maybe not as diligently as I was in the past, but that will pick up again as soon as things start happening. I promise. I know you miss me. For now, I’ll just do my best to keep you updated and to check in every couple of days. When things start falling into place for me, though, expect me to be here non-stop. I know you can’t wait.

Until next time…peace to all.

No comments:

Post a Comment