Sunday, September 26, 2010

Another Good Day Comes to a Close

We actually had another good day today, I am pleased to announce. I got the laundry done – since we’ve been here I haven’t fallen behind on it; and the kids and I spent a lot of time together just messing around. This morning we watched last night’s season premiere of Nickelodeon’s “Big Time Rush” and laughed at the antics of the boys on the show. A couple of them are hot so it’s a shame that I’m as old as I am. I can’t even lust after them; I’m old enough to be their mother. Bummer. The show is cute, though, and the kids like it.

Then, we were going to watch a new episode of “Victorious” and I was getting ready to go back to the DVR guide. I recorded both shows because we had such a long day at the zoo that I wanted the kids to get some rest and they’d have been up late if they watched the shows as they aired. Before I could get to the guide, though, they realized that “FRED: The Movie” was on Nick and wanted to watch that instead. Fred is a character made up and played by 17-year-old Lucas Cruikshank. Lucas makes short videos of “Fred” doing all kinds of goofy shit. You can look him up on Youtube – just search “Fred” and you’ll get a list of videos. We all love Fred, he’s just too cool, although a geek. Anyway, we watched the movie rather than the “Victorious” episode.

Afterward I came up to my room to get a couple of things done and to finish folding the laundry before our next activity. We decided that we would make some popcorn and watch “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” in the boys’ room. They’ve been begging me to watch the movie with them so I finally did. I don’t recommend it, though, to anyone over ten years of age. The boys like it, and laugh hysterically at it, but it was putting me to sleep. It was all I could do to keep my eyes open – and they were burning really badly – until the movie ended. Then we just came into my room to watch some “Fred” videos on Youtube.

Then it was dinner, showers and bed for them, although none of them went to sleep when they should have. That needs to be changed. I put them to bed by 8:30 and many nights they’re still awake longer than they should be. It’s just too bad we can’t put them to sleep instantly. A quick snap of the fingers and it’s happy dreams for all. Where is Samantha Stevens when I need her? I’ve tried twitching my nose but all that does is make my nose itch, and the kids are still awake.

In any case, the day was good and I’m finally learning how to deal with the onset of a tantrum before it becomes a full-blown meltdown. I don’t know what made me see my errors but I can only speculate that it’s because I have a lot of time to think these days. Time to think and converse with the Universe. Maybe I’m just calming down and listening to the answers that are coming my way. I realize I’m impatient but that’s gotta change too. It’s not doing me any good so I’ll have to just do my best to stop stressing over shit and let nature take its course. It’s about time I got a clue; or rather, it’s about time I used the knowledge I’ve already got and to actually use it. When I’m under stress I push all of my techniques and methods to the back burner and I know I shouldn’t.

From now on I’ll do what I can to smile and take things in stride. It’s worked for the past couple of days so I know I can do it. It’s just a matter of me reminding myself, on a constant basis, to continue with what I know. If I don’t make some positive changes I’ll just stagnate and keep getting frustrated. I’ll keep Dr. Phil in mind when I revert to the same negative behaviors: “How’s that working for ya?” Well, the positive is working really well, thank you. I do believe I’ll try to continue with it.

Until next time…peace to all.

No comments:

Post a Comment