Wednesday, September 29, 2010

Lovin' Skype

I think Skype is the coolest thing. I've been using it a lot lately and trying to convince my friends to download it so we can chat live, sort of. It's better than the phone because it's got video so you can actually see the person on the other end. You can do full screen, or just leave it in the small screen. That's what Joe and I usually because we play games while we talk. Not games with each other, we just play the Solitaire and Freecell games that come installed on the computer. The kids use Skype, too, to talk to their dad. They used to anyway; I think I went over this the other night. He's moving and doesn't have his camera set up yet. Oh well. That's just Paul.

The only thing I don't like about Skype is that I can't carry my computer with me. I've got a desktop but even with a laptop it would be difficult, or, at least, bothersome. If I’ve been in the middle of cooking I've had to leave the computer to go check on the food. Or, if I want to get something to drink, I have to run to the kitchen and leave Joe sitting there waiting for me. Not that it takes me very long, it's the point. And going to the bathroom is just a PITA. I've taken the phone with me when the need arose; don't say “gross” because I know you’ve done it too. When you’re on the phone for a while and need to go the phone goes with you; don’t deny it. I can’t take my computer with me, though, when I’m using Skype. Not that I would even if I had a laptop because nobody wants to watch that. I may leave the computer outside the door, though. With a desktop I don’t have that option.

Skype is cool, too, because you can leave voicemail messages even if your contacts don’t have their computers on when you call. They’ll get a notification that they missed a call and will be able to retrieve the message just like on the phone. It’s too cool. If you do connect it’s a great tool for being able to see your contacts in person. You can call someone and ask advice on what you’re wearing. “Is this dress okay for dinner tonight?” You can show off kids’ drawings, or allow them to tell Grandma “Happy Birthday” live and in person.

You can even take snapshots of the person you’re talking to and save them. You might catch them looking really spectacular and want to save the moment; or you could get photos of them doing really silly shit and then post the photos on Facebook. I’d ask their permission first, though, or you may not have them to Skype with anymore. I did that to Joe once. This past winter we were talking on night. His computer was in his bedroom and he heard something outside the house. He knelt on his bed to take a look out the window and I snapped a shot of his big ass (in sweatpants – get your minds out of the gutter) as it was facing directly into the camera. I did post it on Facebook but only after asking him if it was okay. He’s a good sport about everything so it wasn’t a problem for him. I’ve also taken snapshots of him looking like a complete and total goofball after waking up from a nap. I’ve got those photos saved as blackmail shots – in the event that I ever need them.

I just think Skype is one of the best ways to communicate with friends these days. Could you tell by all my talk of it? If not, you should be able to tell now. I think everyone should have it and we should all be using it rather than just sending text messages constantly, or emails. Granted, there’s nothing wrong with those methods, but live conversation, especially when there’s video to go along with it, is really great. Not only do you get to enjoy hearing your friend’s voice, but there will never be any mistaking the meaning or context of what is being said the way that can happen with the written word. Give it a shot if you want. Tell your family. Tell your friends. Maybe we can start a Skype movement and have all the World connected. Nah, maybe not; I don’t need that many friends. I’m just diggin’ technology these days and putting the word out there.

Until next time…peace to all.

No comments:

Post a Comment