Today wasn’t the greatest of days. I got some good news and I got shit on by a loser who has nothing better to do with his time but prey on the innocent. There is a garage that helps low-income families get working vehicles. They’re going to try to help me by doing some work on my van and, in exchange, I’ll work in their garage helping them with my van, and on the other vehicles they’re preparing for other low-income families. I emailed the guy my details this afternoon and will wait to hear back from him.
On the ugly note, I placed that ad on Craigslist stating that I need a home for my kids and me and I got one response, from a guy who said he had a property available and would only charge me $100 a month, utilities included. Ellen and I researched it and she found that it’s listed on real estate sites but is described as being much different than what I was told in the emails. When I called the real estate agent, she confirmed that the guy was a fraud so I’ve contacted Craigslist to find out if there is any way I can report this dude to the government. The way I see it, he tried to offer me property over the Internet which should be a felony. However, since his email is probably fake, there won’t be any way to actually trace him, I don’t think, so any efforts I make to put things right will only be in vain. What-the-fuck-ever.
The way I see it is that my life is just a big cosmic joke to the higher powers that be; the Gods that so many believe in; the Universe that I talk about all the time. My life is just Their, Its, Whosever, way of saying, “Hey Beth, you’ve been Universally Punk’d!!” Where’s Ashton Kutcher so I can slap him? The thing is that, the people who get Punk’d on a daily basis get to get past it and move on; I, on the other hand, get to deal with it every single day because the Universe just keeps coming up with new ways to catch me in the bullshit of the net It has around me. I think it’s pretty ironic that I might have someone to help me get my van in great running condition only because it may be the only place I’ll have to live in the coming weeks. No, I don’t really believe that but it’s a realistic thought.
So my day was pretty shitty and I couldn’t wait for bedtime for the kids. I needed some peace and quiet and more than a few drinks. The problem was that the drinks I had did nothing more than give me a slight buzz and a nice, relaxed feeling. I couldn’t even get drunk. Not that I needed or wanted to but it did keep me from going out and buying a pack of smokes. The fact that I have no money didn’t even come to my mind since the State of Missouri sucks balls at getting me my money on time these days. But I did consciously know that I couldn’t go out driving. So, I did without a cigarette, even though I really, really wanted one. Shit, lately it doesn’t matter what I want, the Universe dangles it in front of me then yanks it away the second I get close. You should be able to hear the maniacal laughter; I can.
In any case, I spent the evening watching TV; Sonny watched a movie with me then retreated to the confines of his bedroom; at which point I watched some of “The Blues Brothers” alone. Then I started getting lonely so I came to my room and saw that Connie was on Facebook so I called her and we chatted a while; me about my woes and she about hers. Neither of us was able to help the other but at least we got to vent. It’s been a long time since she and I talked and it was nice to hear her voice again. Can I tell you, though, that I completely forgot what I was going to say tonight? I had something that I wanted to put on here and can’t remember, for the life of me, what it was. That’s what happens when I get buzzed; I get really tired and my mind wanders to places unknown. I suppose that means I need some sleep, so I’ll sign off for now. Maybe I’ll remember what I wanted to say and put it in tomorrow’s post; then again, maybe I won’t.
Until next time…peace to all.
Where Have I Been?
-
It's hard to believe it's been so long since I've posted anything....but
that's how I roll. It's been about a year. So much has happened in a
year. Some...
11 years ago

No comments:
Post a Comment