I got an email this past Wednesday from the property manager
– PM – over here where I live. I’d sent emails and made phone calls to her
complaining about the neighbors with the loud music and bullying son. PM called
me last weekend after the third email I’d sent about the adult male from the
offending household standing in the parking lot screaming at my next-door
neighbor because she’d asked them to turn down the music. PM received my email
and wanted to let me know that she’d address my complaints on Monday, referring
to this past Monday.
I didn’t hear anything until I got the email from PN on
Wednesday. Her email asked me to meet her in her office on Friday morning to
discuss the complaint. I wrote back saying I’d be there around 8:30 unless she
told me otherwise. She agreed and I set a reminder in my phone so I wouldn’t
forget. I didn’t forget because generally when I set a reminder, write myself a
note, or ask someone to remind me of something it never leaves my mind.
Friday morning I got up and go the kids ready for school and
on the bus; then I went up to the office. I was there a bit early because I
figured I’d get in to see PM, discuss what needed to be discussed, and get back
home so I could do my chores and errands for the day. As is my luck she wasn’t
at the office yet. The receptionist told me PM had called in a few minutes
prior saying she was stuck in traffic. So I sat and waited. She arrived about
20 minutes later, went into her office to put away her belongings, and called
me in to speak with her.
Just to make small talk while she gathered her paperwork I
simply asked if the traffic was really bad.
Apparently there was a bad accident on the highway and she felt the need
to tell me about it; I was just being polite, I wasn’t expecting every single
detail. Anyway, she finished telling me about her ride into work and then she
began discussing my complaints. She had them printed out and laying on the
table next to her. She said she’d addressed the complaints with the neighbors
in my complaints and then she began talking about tit-for-tat incidents. Huh?
She started telling me that her job is to try to keep peace
amongst the residents in the complex and that she tries really hard not to have
to put anything in anyone’s file. Okay, I had no problem with that. She went on
to say that her main goal was to try to work things out so that neighbors could
be neighbors. Again, that was fine with me. I don’t generally bother with my
neighbors; I prefer to keep to myself and let everyone else do their own
things. I wouldn’t have even bothered to complain about these neighbors except
that my family was being bothered by their antics. Had it not affected any one
of us I would never have said a word to anyone.
In any case, PM continued talking about how she just wanted
to work with us to make sure that there were no further disturbances and since
she’d discussed my complaint – names withheld, according to her – with my
neighbors she also had to discuss a complaint lodged against me. Now I
understood what the “tit-for-tat” comment was about. She said she couldn’t tell
me who filed the complaint against me but she didn’t need to. I’m not an idiot.
I’d filed a complaint against them about their son being a bully and about them
playing their music in the parking lot too loudly. So, in turn, she went and
filed a complaint against me – about my 12-year-old son being a bully. Imagine
that.
I told PM that I don’t have a 12 year old; I told her my
kids are 10, 9, and 6 years of age. She just said that the complainant thought
my son was 12. I can only guess the my neighbor doesn’t even speak to her son
about school or she’d have known that my son Zach – the one I can only presume
she was complaining about being a bully – is in the same class as her son, who
is eight. Both boys are in the fourth grade so Zach can’t possibly be 12. Even
if she was referring to Ty she still can’t put puzzle pieces together. Ty rides
the same bus to school as Zach and her son. That bus goes to the elementary
school and the middle school. The middle school is fifth and sixth graders – 10
and 11 year olds; seventh grade and up, generally 12 years old and older, all
go to the high school. Whatever, I’m nitpicking about her not being able to think
logically. Eh, it is what it is.
Regardless, I let PM tell me about the complaint and all she
said was that my son was being called a bully and would I please speak to him
about it. Yes, I would speak to him, but what do I do when the bully continues
to mess with my kids? I repeated that I can’t speak to the parents and don’t
know what else to do. She said that, if it happens during office hours, I am
supposed to call her and she’ll drive up to assess the situation. What the fuck
is that going to do? By the time I even get past the receptionist the bully
will have run to another part of the yard and changed his story to fit what he
wants others to believe. Fuck it.
It just really sucks that I can’t try to get assistance to
help my kids without getting a complaint filed against me. Because of that
complaint management has to consider it a wash and won’t help me. Ask me again
why I don’t trust anyone and have a problem with authority figures. I dare ya.
I guess I’ll just have to wait until someone gets hurt by this kid and call the
police. I have no other options at this point. And, from now on, I’ll make
periodic surprise visits out to the yard, with my phone, so I can take video and
try to capture the kid being a little shit. In the meantime I’m not going to
stress over it; it’s out of my control so I’ll just wait and see what happens.
Until next time…peace to all.

Im hoping that someday you and your kids can climb out of these oppressive living situations. It breaks my heart to read your stories about irrational and irresponsible carbon life forms (most dont appear to merit the term 'humans') hindering the progress youve made in the past year. As always, good energy being sent...with fingers ☩ed for good measure! ć
ReplyDeleteOur day will come, not to worry. When the time is right the Universe will let me know. Thanks for the positive thoughts and good energy. :)
ReplyDelete