I called my bank the other day to ask for a new bank card. The one I have doesn't expire until November of next year and the numbers are fading, I can barely see the security code on the back, and there are some stores where I have to put the card in a plastic bag to run it through the machine. It won't read without the bag; go figure. I need a new one.
So I got the customer service chick on the phone, I believe her name is Mary, and I explained that I needed her to order me a new card. She asked why so I gave her all of the aforementioned reasons. Then, to confirm what I'd told her she said, "So it's damaged?" Okay, if you say so. I told her it's not really damaged, it's just worn from use. "So it's damaged." Alright then.
She told me she'd put in for a new one but wanted to make sure I knew a few things first. Okay, shoot. You'll receive the new card in about 14 days. Got it. The credit feature of your current card will be cancelled until you receive the new card and activate it. Why? For security reasons. Okay. So you'll only be able to use the card as a debit with the PIN. Okay, I know my PIN. But the PIN that you selected will revert back to the original PIN that we assigned you. Huh? I don't know that PIN; what do I do? The stupidity got worse.
Well, you can come into the branch and reset it to the PIN you want. No I can't; I don't live in NY anymore. Do you visit? Uh, no. I have no reason to visit there. Do you have a shared branch out there in MO that you use? Yes, it's across the street. Well, then you can go there and withdraw cash if you need it. Why can't you just set my PIN to the one I have now? Because, as you know - no, I don't know - you have to come into the branch and manually set it. Seriously?
Every other bank in the world allows the account holder to change the PIN using the bank's automated phone system. Not my bank. Why not? I don't know; she didn't know - but I also didn't ask her because I knew she wouldn't know. When you activate the new card you can try to see if your PIN works but if it doesn't and you don't know the original PIN we gave you you'll have to call us and ask us to send you a new PIN. Hmmm...why don't I just call you and request that you issue me the PIN I've been using for the past two years? I didn't ask her but if the need arises I'll ask the next genius who answers the phone there.
So my credit use will be cancelled until I get the new card; I can only use the card as a debit using a PIN that I don't know; or I'll have to run across the street just to get cash when I need it. Well, the credit won't actually be cancelled until the department gets and processes the replacement card paperwork so it'll probably still work for about seven days. So I'll still be able to pay my bills online for the next few days? Probably. Fine, just send me the new card and I'll deal with the issues as they arise. Thank you, have a nice day.
That was on Monday. Apparently the replacement card department hasn't received my paperwork yet because the credit capabilities are still intact. I paid my bills tonight and will run to the bank tomorrow to get cash to pay my rent, and a little extra - just in case. I just get so annoyed with crap like that. With all the technology in the world today they're going to set rules like this that hinder their clients' account usage. It is what it is and I'll live until the new card gets here. Maybe once it gets here I'll be able to speak with someone on the phone who knows a bit more and can help me get up and activated again without a 20-minute speech on all the policies of the bank. We'll see.
Until next time...peace to all.
Where Have I Been?
-
It's hard to believe it's been so long since I've posted anything....but
that's how I roll. It's been about a year. So much has happened in a
year. Some...
11 years ago

Technology needs to catch up with itself. Hell, I didnt even have my 1st debit card until I retired in 2005. Scary stuff electronic banking...
ReplyDeleteI dont know if you like Big Bang Theory (one of my favorites) but theres an episode where Sheldon says about his tenacity, "I once spent 2 hours on hold to complain about their customer service". I could see you doing that... ツ
If anyone can work through it, its YOU! ツ
LOL I don't watch "Big Bang Theory", only show I watch regularly is "Supernatural"; but I would never sit on hold for two hours waiting to complain about customer. I keep hitting buttons until a person answers. :D But, yes, I will work through it, no doubt.
ReplyDeleteOne you might like, Long Island Medium ..Ive already marathoned 20 eps since Monday..Theresa cracks me up!
ReplyDelete