Tuesday, July 13, 2010

Another Exhausting Day

If there is a word that means really, super, extremely exhausted it can be used to describe me right now. I have been going non-stop again today; this time it was the basement. I started with my books today; my texts, which I’m keeping; my fiction/non-fiction, which I’m keeping; and my Stephen King collection which I sold today and delivered to the buyer. YEA!!! We met in the parking lot of a restaurant and exchanged money for books. More money added to the fund. A lady is coming on Saturday to get my living room tables, and I had a guy inquire about my desk. Fingers crossed they both come through with the sales.

On Saturday my neighbor is going to help me tune up my van, too. I can’t wait to get that done; and I’m going to call Action Oil and Lube tomorrow to make an appointment for an oil change. Then the car will be all set; but I see that I’ve totally strayed from the topic of my basement. I said I started with the books but never continued with the thought. After I had the books all packed and labeled had Ty help me pick up garbage they and their friends had left all over the basement and all the toys they weren’t keeping. There weren’t many toys left down there other than outdoor toys – basketballs, jumpropes, Frisbees, and a couple of miscellaneous toys that all fit into a rubber bin. Then he and I started removing the garbage to the dumpster – numerous trips on a really hot, muggy day made for a lot of sweat.

After we finished with the front of the basement we started with the stuff under the stairs. What I am keeping went into the front corner with the rest of the stuff that was already there, plus the books; and the rest all went to the dumpster. Now my basement belongings, the stuff I’m taking with me, are all standing in the same corner of the basement, consolidated, and would probably fit in a large walk-in closet. A second YEA is in order here. That’s a major accomplishment for me.

Now the upstairs is done, the downstairs is done, and the main floor is all that’s left but really only the coat closet that I didn’t get to today. I’ll do that tomorrow. I need to run to Dollar General to get more boxes. I tried today but the mean manager who won’t let me have any boxes was there; the nice girl who told me to come on her shift wasn’t. I’ll see if she’s there tomorrow because I really need some big boxes for the coats and stuff. After the closet, I’ll basically just be putting together a box of sundries; stuff that is just lying around waiting to be packed because I’m not really using it but left it out “just in case” I needed it. Then it’ll just be waiting for that last week so I can pack the dishes, toys, and whatnot that we’re still using. I’m very close to being done, now. Woo Hoo!! Just gotta get rid of the rest of the furniture.

I finished the basement with barely time to spare before the boys had to go to counseling at 4:30. While I sat in the waiting room I almost fell asleep, that’s how tired I was. When we left there I had to drive to meet my book buyer and then we headed home for dinner. I had planned on making Chinese chicken stir-fry for dinner but changed my mind before we even left the house. I was just too tired. Instead, the kids had pizza, and I had hot dogs, which, by the way, is the best non-food ever invented. I could eat hot dogs for every meal. Then they wanted to go outside to play for a while and Zach had me throwing the football to him and his friends. He was getting annoyed with me because I was only throwing it 70ft instead of the 90ft I was throwing it last year. “C’mon Mom, you made it all the way to the other building last summer.” Gee, Zach, last summer I didn’t spend the day lugging 300lbs of boxes all over the place before we threw the ball around. Geez, he expects me to be SuperMom all the time. Sometimes I just need a break.

I finally got them all in around 9:00 and ready for bed by 9:30. I figured I could get my blog done and get into bed but Zach made up a “My stomach hurts” excuse so he could sit down here with me, and he keeps interrupting me so it’s 10:30 and I’m not finished yet. I will be in a minute, though because I’m running out of things to say (my brain is also tired from all the thinking I did today), and I just need some sleep. Zach seems to think I’ll be able to stay up and watch a movie with him tonight but I can almost guarantee that I won’t make the first twenty minutes of it. I feel bed but he’ll just have to understand.

So that’s my day; I’m tired but happy with all my progress. Each day just gets me one step closer to my goals. I’m trying to convince Tracy to move to Maryland instead of Montana. Her husband might not notice if she doesn’t tell him. Ellen and I have some pretty great aspirations and will definitely need help once we get rolling. We’ll have an office, Tracy and run a satellite office and Connie, up near Albany, NY can run another satellite office. Before you know it we’ll have offices all over the Northeast. If Tracy decides to go to Montana we’ll just have to branch to the West. We’ll see when the time comes. For now, I’m out.

Until next time…peace to all.

No comments:

Post a Comment