Monday, July 5, 2010

Relaxation Day

Today was a seriously boring day, I gotta tell ya. I got up, showered, packed four boxes of kitchen stuff, and then sat down on my mattress-that’s-now-the-sofa and watched television – all day long. I reposted my craigslist ads early this morning and got one hit that was a scam so I didn’t even respond. I leave my email open all day so I can see when I get new messages, and during the entire day I got about seven new messages. On any other day I’ve got 30-40 messages coming in from whomever. I guess people were just too busy to be on the computer today. That doesn’t make me feel good because I need my furniture to sell. I don’t know what I’ll do with it if it doesn’t sell before I have to leave. I guess I’ll deal with that when the times comes.

I did get to watch the next episode of the new show I discovered last week, “Persons Unknown” that was on tonight. It was pretty good; I wasn’t disappointed. I was surprised at one thing, though. I know FCC standards have changed as far as language on TV is concerned but a character in this show actually said “dick” tonight. I don’t recall the exact line but she did start it by saying, “It doesn’t mean dick if…” Good grief. I guess I should watch more TV so I won’t be surprised the first time someone says “fuck” on primetime. Before you know it, news anchors will be throwing obscenities in during live broadcasts.

Anyway, after “Persons Unknown,” the next installment of “Last Comic Standing” was on that channel. It was a semi-final round I debated whether or not to watch it because I don’t watch reality TV. I had an argument with myself about it. I didn’t want to watch it because I hadn’t seen any of it thus far, and I knew that if I watched it this week I’ll want to watch it next week. What if I have a hot date next week? That’s not likely to happen but I have to take it into consideration, right? You never know.

On the other hand, I wanted to watch “Last Comic Standing” because I wanted to see if any of the comedians were funny enough to make me really laugh. I haven’t laughed really hard in a long time and was due. Besides, with 24 comedians, I think it was, performing, some of them were bound to be really funny. So I watched the show. Out of all those performers, one made me chuckle once and another made me laugh so hard I had tears. That was it. This is a competition to see who’s the funniest in the group and they only had two that got a reaction out of me.

It could be that they didn’t really have enough time to get rolling with their material – each comic only had 90 seconds – but I’m thinking that, if that one guy made me laugh as hard as he did, the rest could have done the same. At the end of the show the judges made their selections of the five that will move on to the finals next week. There were five from this week and five from last week (I didn’t see that episode) and they will all perform next week and then we, the American people, get to vote on who will be the “Last Comic Standing.” Since I’ll be watching “Person Unknown” next week, unless I have that really hot date, I’ll probably watch “Last Comic Standing” just out of curiosity. If I feel like it I may even vote for the comic I like best. If he’s as funny next week as he was this week I’ll definitely vote for Tommy Johnagin.

This dude was fucking hilarious and had me laughing from the second he started talking. His 90 seconds were way too short and I would have gladly watched him for the entire two hours. I may even see if he’s on YouTube to check out more of his material. If you like comedy, I highly recommend Tommy Johnagin. His material was original and his depictions made for the perfect visual images. It was not hard to imagine what he was talking about at all; and his delivery was perfect.

I also got to watch one of my all-time favorite movies today. I happened to be flipping channels when I noticed “Johnny Dangerously” was on one of the HBO channels. It was 35 minutes into the movie, and I don’t usually put on a movie once it’s started, but I couldn’t resist. “Johnny Dangerously” ranks right up there with “The Blues Brothers” in my book. It’s too funny and I have to watch it whenever I can. I ran to Blockbuster yesterday to get “Young Frankenstein” for Tyler (I don’t recall if I mentioned it in last night’s post or not) and “Johnny Dangerously” for me. I got Ty’s movie but they didn’t have mine. Ironic, huh, that it’s on TV the day after I searched for it in a store? That happens to me all the time. It’s actually getting ready to start in just a minute. I’ve got the channel on in the background so I can watch/listen while I write this, and I’ll finish watching it when I’m finished here and up in bed.

I don’t know if I’ll be permitted to sleep tonight because my neighbors are still shooting off fireworks. They have been all day. It just gets boring and annoying after a while. Get over it – you light it, it performs, it’s done. Wow!!! You’ve only done 500 of them so far, the novelty should have worn off by now. Besides, I’m thinking your kids need to be in bed. It’s 10:30 already, my kids have to go to school in the morning, and I’m getting ready to go to bed. I say pack it up, go inside, put the kids to bed, and let me be done with your idiocy for the day. It won’t happen but I can still wish for it.

Well, tomorrow is another day. People will buy my furniture, and I’ll get more packing done. I’m sure of it. I just feel like I’m playing the waiting game again, and I don’t like that. I waited for this move and it’s coming so I know the furniture will sell too. Then I can get out of here and move on to a better life. Right now I’m moving on to my movie and some more doing nothing.

Until next time…peace to all.

No comments:

Post a Comment