I must say that today was a very productive day. The kids and I went food shopping to get meals and snacks for this week; we planned meals and only bought what we needed. I’m going to make sure I don’t have a butt load of food left over to move with us. I’ll keep what I want and the rest will be given away if we can’t get it eaten in time. I don’t want the hassle of having to move food across country; and I’m not packing a cooler except for snacks and drinks for the kids. I think I mentioned this in last night’s post. Maybe I didn’t. Heck, it’s summer; repeats are in now, right?
I got a couple of contacts for some of the items I’m selling. The lady who wanted the rocker finally got back to me today and said her dog had to be rushed to the vet over the weekend so she’ll come by tomorrow to get the chair. YEA!! Another said she wants the Stephen King collection and will get it tomorrow also; I’m not sure this one is a solid deal but I’ll let you know when I get the word. I had yet another asking about the coffee and end tables. She asked if they are still available but never responded when I told her they are. Maybe she’ll get back to me tomorrow, too. Then, I called a place named “Grandpa’s Furniture” that buys and sells new and used furniture. I called to find out what to do and the lady told me just to email pictures and George will call me to let me know if he’s interested. If he is, he comes to look at it, negotiate price, and he takes it away after writing me a check; I don’t have to deliver it. That’s cool. With luck he’ll like the desk and the dining room set; the two biggest pieces are the ones I need to get rid of now.
I also got all the upstairs closets packed today; each closet in the kids’ rooms and my closet. My upstairs is now 99% packed; all I have left is the remainder of the linen closet, the bathroom, and the stuff the kids are using daily. I was hot and sweaty all day doing that packing but I kept at it, non-stop. I called Ty upstairs, at one point, to hold a box closed for me while I taped and he said, “Mom, you’ve got some sweat on your nose,” as it dripped and landed on the box with the other 100 or so drops that were already there. He thought it was pretty funny. I did shower again tonight just to get the film off me.
My sister wrote on my Facebook wall wishing me a belated Happy Birthday. She said she’s been throwing up all week and hadn’t been online so she missed my birthday, and hoped it was wonderful. I politely thanked her and said my day was decent. Guess what? Even when I’ve got a stomach virus, I’m not completely incapacitated. I may be lying on the sofa, but I still get up to do for my kids. I guess that, since she’s got a husband, she doesn’t have to get out of bed if she doesn’t want to when she’s sick. I’m still thinking she could’ve picked up the phone between puking rounds to make a quick 30-second phone call to wish me a Happy Birthday.
Joe also called me today and regaled me with what he’s been doing since Wednesday. He’s had a friend visiting from out of town so they’ve been hanging out together and, on Saturday, he went out to lunch and to a movie with his potentially soon-to-be-second-ex-wife. I asked if lunch started at midnight because my birthday lasted for 24 hours. He said he keeps forgetting that he can email me from his phone. I told him he could’ve called while he was taking a piss just to say a quick hello and Happy Birthday. He started laughing and agreed, but still didn’t get the point. Whatever; people like him and my sister tend to be a bit dense at times. One of these days they’ll figure out that others count too. I’m done with it now, though. What’s done is done and I can’t change it or make them understand how their little errors made a huge impact. C’est la vie.
Tomorrow I’m out scouting more boxes so I can get started on the basement and the coat closet in the living room. The basement is, pretty much, packed, I just need to make a few adjustments to the already-present boxes and get things organized. I want to do as much as I can down there so I can consolidate my belongings and take an inventory, of sorts. We don’t need out winter coats either so they can all be packed into a box, or two, and the rest of what I’ve got in the coat closet will be tossed or packed. When those two things are done, I’ve only got left what we’re still using. Not bad, eh? I think I’m making pretty good progress. When I’m done, though, all I’ll have to do is clean and laundry, then I’m back to being bored. Don’t worry; I’ll find something to keep me entertained so I can keep you entertained. I won’t subject you to the misery of the Boredom Monster ever again. I’ll be cool, I promise.
Until next time…peace to all.
Where Have I Been?
-
It's hard to believe it's been so long since I've posted anything....but
that's how I roll. It's been about a year. So much has happened in a
year. Some...
11 years ago

Sounds like you've really made progress. Moving is so exhausting but it sounds like you are really going after it. Won't be long and you'll be on your way east. YAY!
ReplyDeleteWish we could stop to see you along the way but we won't have time. I'll wave as we go past.
ReplyDeleteCan you say, "Road Trip?" ;)