Sunday, July 25, 2010

It's Only Sunday and My Head Hurts Already

The rest of this week better be more pleasant than the past couple of days have been. You all know about yesterday; today wasn’t much better. I got into an argument with Paul because of the way he treated Zach over the phone. Without going into details, Paul seems to think that he can treat the kids like shit when he disagrees with their choice or when they don’t take his advice. That’s the kind of shit my mother used to do to me when she didn’t like my choice; guilt me into feeling bad and apologizing for nothing. Well, I didn’t let Zach feel bad, but I did tell Paul that he can’t do that to them. Kids have rights to and are allowed to make choices of their own regardless of whether or not we parents agree.

So then he switched to martyr mode: “Okay so I get to be the bad guy again.” What the fuck!? When has he ever been the bad guy? I’m the one instilling all the rules and discipline; I’m the one who gets the evil eye when consequences come into play; I get the attitude, the back talk, the threats, the ‘I hate you’s, and all the rest. He’s always the good guy because, as the kids say, “Dad loves me because he buys me what I want.” Now that’s sad if you ask me. But Paul set up their relationship that way so he can deal with the consequences of it when the kids actually see him for who he really is.

Anyway, I’ve got a cold, from the kids, so I’m feeling like crap – clogged head and nose; sore, hoarse throat; cough, and all that fun stuff – so I really didn’t feel like dealing with his bullshit today. He even threatened to take away the move: “I’ll pull this move so fast you won’t know what hit you.” Go ahead jackass, you’re only hurting yourself. DUH!!! I didn’t say that to him but I did tell him to go ahead and pull it; that I didn’t ask him for help moving, it was his idea. I told him that I was willing to wait until next year but he said he’d take care of it so he need not try to hang it over my head that he’s doing most of the work to get us moved. It’s actually the least he can do – helping with the move – since he’s the reason we’re out here. I won’t say that out loud, though.

So, after he got done saying what he needed to say and trying to upset me – which didn’t work, by the way – I guess he spoke with his pseudo-babe and told her I was being mean to him, blah, blah, blah…I didn’t even raise my voice, which was really funny. Regardless, I don’t know what happened in his world but someone must have said something to him that made him think about what he did because he called back later in the day – sounding remorseful – and wanted to talk to Zach, but Zach was busy playing with friends and didn’t want to talk. Sucks for Paul, doesn’t it? Then he emailed me to ask about a video game the kids wanted; probably didn’t call because he figured I didn’t want to talk to him. Poor baby. When I emailed him the name of the game he responded with a “Thank you” and that was that. He’s on the phone with the kids now, saying good night so I’ll see what his attitude is like when they’re done talking.

Three minutes later: Apparently he’s in a better mood and was okay with Zach. They talked for a few minutes about whatever and Zach said Paul wasn’t yelling at him again. Well, that’s nice. I also explained to Zach that he is allowed to make choices that his dad and I might not like, and that nobody has the right to make him feel bad about those choices. He feels better now and that’s that. The kids are in bed and I’m on my way. My throat hurts and I can barely talk; my nose is itchy and leaky now; and my sinuses are throb-b-b-b-b-b-ing. I’ll feel better in the morning, though. I spend a lot of the day sneezing so I know the cold is working its way out of my system. YEA!! I am going to bed now, though, and I know tomorrow will be better than today and yesterday combined. I’ve got a lot to do to finish up details before Thursday. I have to feel better whether my body wants to or not. There is no choice in that. :)

Until next time…peace to all.

No comments:

Post a Comment