Sunday, July 11, 2010

Tomorrow's Plans Today

I just sat here and decided to blog early for a change. Then I looked at the clock – it’s 10:20, not early at all. Today was an extremely lazy day for me. After drinking last night I was really tired this morning. The kids I’m babysitting got picked up by their dad at 10:00 for their visit with him and he returned them at 6:00. During the time they were gone I did one thing – I went to Dollar General to get sugar, ketchup and bread, and then returned home to make egg sandwiches for my kids and me. After we were finished eating I lounged on the mattress-that-became-the-sofa and watched television all day long. I even napped off and on during the day. It was exciting.

I still haven’t heard from my sister and really don’t expect to. I texted Joe again right before I went to bed telling him I still hadn’t heard from him or my sister; then I went to bed. While I was at Dollar General with Dolly this morning he called and spoke with Ty. I guess he only wanted to speak with Ty because he still hasn’t called me back yet. Whatever; I’ve got too much going on to be bothered with people who don’t have time for me anymore. Tomorrow I’m back on track with the packing.

I’m going to get down to brass tacks and get shit done. I’ve got closets to clean and pack, a basement to clean and pack, and various sundries to pack. I also remembered about a new-and-used furniture place over here in Kansas City. I found the website and emailed to see if they buy used furniture. If they do, maybe they’ll buy my desk and dining room set. If I can get rid of these two hulking pieces I’ll be in a better position to organize. I did sell my freezer today. My neighbor paid for it but knows it’s staying here until I’m gone; I’m still using it. If I can get it cleaned out over the next few days, maybe we can find a way to get it to her house.

I get my foodstamps tomorrow and I told the kids we’d go food shopping but only for the week and only for specific meals. I told them we’ll plan what we want each day so I don’t over buy on the groceries. That’ll allow me to get my freezer emptied so my neighbors can have it. Just one less thing for me to deal with now. I think they’re also going to buy my washer and dryer; those are definitely staying until I’m ready to go because I’ll need them to keep up on laundry. I am really hoping the furniture place will be able to help me, though. Fingers crossed.

I’ll start in my bedroom and get my stuff cleaned and packed, clothes included; then I’ll go the kids’ clothes. I’ll need to leave out some of their jeans and a jacket each so they can take them to their dad’s house; the rest will all be boxed and ready to go. I’ll finish packing the linen closet leaving one towel for each of us. I don’t wash them every day; we just hang them on hooks on the back of the door to dry, and then wash them once a week. That may sound gross to some, but we are clean when we emerge from the shower so it’s clean water drying on the towels. Maybe I can get the entire upstairs completely packed other than toys the kids are currently using. That would be sweet. Then I’d only have the coat closet down here, whatever’s left in the kitchen that we’re still using, and the basement.

You’d think with an exciting move like this taking place I’d be more gung-ho about packing, but it’s boring when I’m doing it myself. There’s just so much crap that we’ve collected in the time we’ve been here that I can’t get my brain organized enough to organize my crap. I feel like I’m just shifting it from one corner to the other and not really getting anything accomplished. If I had the room to move it up here to the living room I’d feel like I’m doing more but I don’t have the room with the furniture still here. Something’s gotta give. I know it will; I’m just cranky that things aren’t moving faster. Pleh. I should put ads on craigslist and my stuff should sell by the next day. That’s the way I want it but that’s not what’s happening. I’ve still got time, though; I’m sure everything will sell in due time. I’m off to bed now to rest from all the rest I got today and to help tomorrow get here faster. Tomorrow night is the next episode of “Persons Unknown” so I’ve got something to look forward to all day.

Until next time…peace to all.

2 comments:

  1. Hey, you know what says "Happy Birtday dear friend, I really love ya"???? A Happy Birthday message with a picture of a mostly naked guy with a big dick! Now that's how a friend says Happy Birthday! LOL

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yep, I'll agree with that. I'm still a bit stunned by it though. :D

    ReplyDelete