Thursday, July 1, 2010

Yup, It's My Turn

I got all my pictures down off the walls today; all but the really huge one hanging in the living room. I also got the stuff in my curio cabinet (my angel collection) wrapped and packed in a box. It’s a start but I am, sort of, spinning in circles trying to decide what should be packed first. I know books, movies, collectibles and the sort should all be done since they’re used the least. I just have so much stuff in different places that I don’t know where to begin consolidating. Should I start in my closet and just pack the clothing and things I have stored in there? Should I start in the basement; should I start in the kitchen?

Tomorrow I think I’ll go in the kitchen and get rid of the stuff stored in the hutch and on top of the fridge and cabinets that doesn’t get used. Then maybe I’ll head to the basement and pack the books that I’m keeping. I put my Stephen King Collection on Craigslist.com. I like the books; I just don’t want to read them anymore and don’t see any reason to lug them with me only for them to continue resting on a shelf. There are 46 in all so that’s a lot of extra weight that I won’t be carrying cross country; I hope, anyway. My school text books are coming with me for sure; and, of course, the kids’ books will be moving with us. I can also get the videos packed. I’ll have them pick a few that they like watching and the rest will be boxed.

With my furniture still here it’s hard to decide what to do, or to really even get in the mood. Since I’m planning on using the living room as the base of the storage after packing, I need to get rid of the furniture to make room. I put all my furniture, with the exception of a few things, on Craigslist.com tonight. I’m asking decent prices so I’m really hoping things will start selling tomorrow. If everything goes for what I’m asking, I should make a good profit, too. If it doesn’t start selling within the week, I’ll lower some of the prices. I just don’t want to go so low that I end up hurting myself. Fingers crossed for me, please and thanks.

I think I made some progress today, even though I forgot to get boxes when I went to the supermarket today to get my WIC stuff. I wanted to get something to put my pictures in so they wouldn’t all be sitting in my bedroom just waiting for one of the kids to fall on them. That would be no fun for any of us. Tomorrow I’ll definitely get some boxes. Dolly already asked me where we’re going in the morning and I told her we’re going to the supermarket. I also need to get some of those free newspaper things, the ones that have the sales ads and stuff in them. I’m not buying any packing supplies because of the expense but I do need something to wrap the glass items in, right? Free stuff is always good.

You know what’s sad? I was on a roll here and had a great train of thought going when Zach walked downstairs asking if he could have something to eat. He wanted a tuna sandwich, and it sounded pretty good to me, too. I whipped some up, made us a couple of sandwiches, and sat back down to finish here but now I can’t remember what I was going to say. I do have a tasty snack to munch on while I try to think of it, though. I really shouldn’t be eating this late but I couldn’t help myself when Zach mentioned the tuna. Some mayo, a little garlic and onion powders, a bit of relish and – YUM!!! – a feast fit for a tuna lover.

I guess it doesn’t really matter what I was going to say; I’ll probably remember it right after I post or at 3:00 in the morning. If it’s important I’ll remember it for tomorrow night. In the meantime I’ll just keep plugging along and getting done what I can each day. Paul made his flight reservations so everything is definite now. I just keep thinking that I won’t have to put up with the shithead neighbors I have around me for much longer. The more my kids complain about them and their kids, and the more irritated I get, the easier it is for me to say, “I’ll be out of here soon.” A month ago it was wishful thinking; now it’s a real prospect and, as difficult as it is for me to accept change, my neighbors are making me more determined to get out without any hesitation or regrets. That’s a bonus, right? I think so. I’m going to bed now so I can rest up for all the work I’ll have to do tomorrow, and the next day, and the next day…you get the picture.

Until next time…peace to all.

2 comments:

  1. Sounds like you're making progress. I know it's a little cheesy, but if you go to www.twomen.com you can find a really good list of packing tips. Seriously....they have some really helpful stuff that'll make the whole moving process so much easier. It's our home office website.

    Enough of that. Are the kids excited about moving? I'm so glad that Paul has his reservations now....like you said...he won't be backing out of airline tickets. I'm so excited for you. At the same time I know how much moving sucks. Scott and I moved 4 times in one year so we are pro's at it now.

    I was just in the living room talking to Jason and he had two really big moves today. (I told you he's a mover at our office right?) He worked 14 hours and he's beat! Moving is so exhausting, I can't imagine doing it as work for a living, lol.

    It's too bad you can't have a yard sale. I had one in our pole barn last summer or the summer before that and sold over $1200 of my junk. That wasn't even anything big. And furniture really sells. I'm hoping that Craigslist works it's magic for you. It's a great way to sell stuff, isn't it!

    Well, good luck with the packing. It will definitely keep you busy this month!

    ReplyDelete
  2. You're a pro at moving you say? Then haul ass over here and help me pack, woman!!! :D

    According to Ellen, I should have everything packed and ready to go by the end of next; then I'll really be bored. I can't say she's completely wrong; I've gotten a lot done already and have sold two items off my craigslist menu already. Yea me!!

    Got to go write up tonight's blog now. :)

    ReplyDelete