Today is Thursday. Dolly is out of school until Tuesday. She attends part-day Headstart so she only goes Monday to Thursday. When she returns on Tuesday, it’ll be her last day of school. The boys will be off for the three-day weekend and will return to school on Tuesday and will attend half a day on Wednesday, their last day of school. I’ve enrolled the boys in summer school again this year because we’re still here. Summer school lasts a month, it’s free, and they each get a gift card if they attend every day. We’ve done it for the past three years and it’s great. It gives them something to do for a month so they’re not standing by my side saying, “There’s nothing to do.” Here’s my problem; summer school may or may not be cancelled this year because of the budget cuts.
I say ‘may or may not’ because the Government still hasn’t decided which way to go yet. Summer school is slated to start June 7th, a week from Monday. It would actually be starting this coming Wednesday but the kids had an extra week off during the Christmas break due to bad weather and they have to make it up now. Anyway, with summer school due to start in just over a week, wouldn’t you think the Government would inform the District whether the funding is available? I would. There are 1000s of children already enrolled and expecting to attend; and the District is continuing with plans as if summer school is a go. The Superintendent is setting up schedules, hiring staff, etc. and said he’ll continue moving forward until he gets word to halt preparations. When will he get that word; Sunday, June 6th?
What are the parents supposed to do in the meantime; sit and twiddle their thumbs? I won’t really run into a problem if they cancel since I don’t work. However, there are a lot of parents around here who do and are going to need to make alternate plans for their kids if there is no summer school. Granted, I won’t be happy if summer school is cancelled but there are a lot more parents who’ll be really angry. They’ll have to scramble at the last minute to find someone to watch their kids and will probably have to pay for it. The Boys and Girls Club charges $125 per kid just for the summer months – that’s all day, every day, Monday through Friday. Day care is beyond expensive, and babysitters cost too. Not to mention that signing kids up at this late date may cost extra – I’m not really sure.
What about families that made plans for vacations later in the summer going on the assumption that summer school is happening yet won’t be able to change their plans if summer school is a no-go? I’d be ticked at that. Summer school has been available here for years so I’m sure, to some, it’s a pain in the ass not knowing what’s up with what. My kids have only been going for three years and I know how I feel about not knowing.
On the flip side of that, say summer school isn’t cancelled. We still haven’t gotten bus information yet. I know approximately which corner it’ll be but the time hasn’t yet been set. Again, will they let us know Sunday before school starts? Does the Government understand that there are real, live people waiting to hear whether or not the summer school program will be cut? I think the members of the Government don’t really comprehend that fact. I think they think we’re all just a bunch of faceless numbers and addresses and they can take their time making a decision because no real people are being disturbed in any way. Quite honestly, if summer school is cancelled, regardless of when or how we are informed, it’ll just be one more reason for me to be ticked at the Government.
The Government is the reason I’m still living here and why I had to sign my kids up for summer school. I wasn’t planning to; I was planning on having to pack and move back to the East Coast. I can’t, though, because the Government won’t help me secure housing so my kids and I will have a place to live. So, not only can I not move right away like I wanted to, but my kids probably won’t have anything to do all summer, rather than just the last month of it. I’m so tired of having to wait on other people to decide what will happen with my life.
Everyone says, “Don’t give up; keep trying.” Keep trying what? I’ve done all I can do. There is nothing else I can do to move my life forward without getting permission from people who work for the Government; whether Federal or State. I, literally, have no other options than to wait. Whatever: I’m sick of waiting, I’m sick of complaining, I’m sick of being put on hold and having my life and the lives of my kids put on hold. There’s nothing I can do so I may as well just sit here and shut up about it all. Besides, I’m tired and I want my cold to go away for good. I’m going to bed.
Until next time…peace to all.
Where Have I Been?
-
It's hard to believe it's been so long since I've posted anything....but
that's how I roll. It's been about a year. So much has happened in a
year. Some...
11 years ago

No comments:
Post a Comment