Saturday, August 21, 2010

A Little Better

It might, technically, be Saturday, but this is still Friday’s post. I do hope there aren’t any problems with that. If so, I guess you’ll just have to move on to something else. Anyway, I’m feeling a little better today; not 100%, but I’m making progress. This morning started off really badly. Zach woke me at 7:22 to find out if we were going to Wal-Mart to get school clothing. I really hadn’t planned on it since I’ll be getting them a bunch next month but I took them to each get a couple of things. His attitude was the pits when we got back and my head was ready to explode.

Ellen actually called me on the phone to invite me into her room for us to chat. We discussed what was going on with the kids and she offered to speak to them about all the changes we’ve made and how it’s affecting all of us. Go to it. When I ran out to CVS she had a chat with the kids so we’ll see how that works. It was hard to tell if it made any difference today because they were pretty occupied with playing outside then with Sonny and video games, but this evening they were wired. I couldn’t wait for bedtime for them just so I could relax in the peace and quiet. Ellen and I even got a chance to talk without the kids constantly interrupting. That was nice.

I don’t know if I’m more up today because the kids appeared a bit calmer, if I’m not stressing about having anything to do because it’s the weekend or because I got some stress relief of my own. Ellen had mowed the front lawn and, while she was mowing the back yard, I was sweeping up the walk in the front, and weeding it along the way. I was even weeding the gutter. Mind you, I don’t like gardening at all but I was actually having fun today. Zach just couldn’t understand how I could be having fun sweeping and pulling weeds so I explained to him that I was getting exercise, relaxing, and making the front yard look nice all at the same time. Fighting with the weeds was actually challenging but, since I was winning, I was enjoying it.

By the time I was finished I was a grungy mess; dirt from head to toe, sweaty, sticky, and I even had a blister on my thumb. The skin was almost off and, since it grosses me out to take care of my own injuries (I can take care of anyone’s but my own), Sonny pulled the skin off of it for me. Now it hurts like a fuddrucker but I’ll live with it. I’ve birthed three children; I don’t think one little blister will be the end of me. Tomorrow I’ll have more fun weeding the driveway. I can’t wait and have even laid out my weeding outfit. I’m not wearing my good clothing to play in the dirt so I found the worst outfit I can find for my day in the sun. Maybe I’ll even get a tan; won’t that be nice?

So, it’s short and sweet tonight; not much to say but wanted to let everyone know that I am feeling better, and hope to continue on an upward swing. I can’t stand being in a funk, and I know my kids read it and that affects them also – probably doesn’t help them stay in good moods which turns their behavior rancid. Even me faking it doesn’t help, kids can see right past that. Anyway, going to get some rest now and prepare for my gardening tasks tomorrow. I’m sure the kids will be up early so I’ll have to get them breakfast and then settled into doing something before I can get started. Maybe I’ll get lucky and they’ll let me before it gets too hot outside and I roast on the driveway. Fingers crossed.

Until next time…peace to all.

No comments:

Post a Comment