I’m still waiting for my Comcast refund. It’s not much but why don’t I have it yet? It really irks me since I always had to pay my bill to them on time or face consequences. Not only did I have to pay on time, but I was paying for the month IN ADVANCE. I have to pay for use of a service a month ahead but when I’m due a refund I have to wait until they feel like sending it to me. What the fuck is that all about, I ask you. It seems as if we’re at the mercy of the corporate world when it comes to paid services.
If my Comcast service was fucked up, I had to call them to make an appointment to have it fixed, but the appointment had to be at Comcast’s convenience. I could call on Saturday and hear, “Well, I have an open appointment next Tuesday from 8:00 to noon or on Wednesday from noon to five. Either of those or I also have Friday all day.” I guess that’s supposed to make me feel good; like they’re doing me a favor leaving the choice up to me. Guess what? None of those times is good for me. I don’t want to have to sit at home for four to five hours, or all day even, waiting for their tech to show up at my house. It’s great that they’ll call me to tell me the tech “will be there within the hour” but I’ve already wasted those previous hours waiting for that phone call.
No!! I want an evening appointment from 6:30 to 7:00 when I know that I’ll be home and will be available for the tech to visit me. And I want him there on Monday if he really can’t be there on Sunday (which would be more preferable for me); I don’t want to wait until Tuesday or later. I’ve already paid for my service; why should I have to wait to have it repaired? If I have to wait, I want a substantial credit for those lost days of service, not just a measly $20 because that’s what Comcast thinks is reasonable.
The gas and electric companies never made me wait for service if there was trouble. MGE, the gas company rushed right over because I smelled gas in my home and had a minor gas leak in my kitchen; I’m sure they would have made me wait otherwise. But it’s the point; no waiting. The electric company, IPL, told me it was my responsibility to turn on the main circuit breaker to my home – the one outside the house that is only supposed to be touched by the electric company techs – even though it was raining and I’m too short to reach it. I had to stand on my toes and punch it with the side of my fist, a couple of times until I actually bruised my hand, to get the power back on in my home. They were very quick to offer their services: “You can call your maintenance office and have a worker turn it on for you.” Thanks IPL, I’ll do just that. Maintenance at Hawthorne Place Apartments and Townhomes sucks balls. When I left at the end of July they still hadn’t replaced my sliding screen door with a proper one and that was on a work order that had been opened two years prior. I’m sure they would’ve run right over to turn my circuit breaker back on for me. (Can you read the sarcasm in all of this?)
It just really irks me that we have to pay bills on time or risk losing service or having late charges tacked on to our accounts yet companies that owe us money can take their sweet-ass time getting it back to us. Shit, even doctors’ offices tell us we have to cancel 24 hours in advance or risk being billed for a missed appointment. Do I get to charge the doctor when he or she is running late or has to cancel because of an emergency patient? I’m thinking that I should get, at least, half of what he or she would be charging me for a completed visit. I can’t really charge the entire fee since I don’t have the degree or expertise that the doctor has but still, half would be fair, right? I think so but I don’t think they do. My time is, quite apparently, not as important as the doctor’s time.
I did it again, didn’t I? I started talking about one thing and ended up on another. At least I’m still on topic, though. That’s a good thing, isn’t it? I was talking about my Comcast refund that still hasn’t arrived yet. I’ll have to call them tomorrow and see what’s what. I also have to call CSE to find out where my child support is. I should have received it Friday but didn’t. I’m thinking that, because I changed my direct deposit info to the new bank account CSE is trying to verify the account so they’re delaying my payment. If they are, that really sucks because I’m down to no money right now. Someone in the State of Missouri needs to get their head out of their ass and get some money heading my way. I can’t stand having to wait on other people, especially when I’m supposed to benefit from it. Fuck them; it’s mine and I want it. They can either give it to me or I’ll call them constantly asking for it, the way bill collectors call me wanting their money. All is fair in love and war, right? Well, I couldn’t care less about love; but I will go to war over my money. I’ll let you know what happens with that.
Until next time…peace to all.
Where Have I Been?
-
It's hard to believe it's been so long since I've posted anything....but
that's how I roll. It's been about a year. So much has happened in a
year. Some...
11 years ago

No comments:
Post a Comment