Thursday, August 5, 2010

Looking For Things To Do

Sorry I skipped last night; without the kids here it’s hard for me to keep on schedule. Before I moved, I’d put the kids in bed and sit down at the computer to blog. Since they’re with Paul I don’t really have a schedule now and spend my evening watching TV with Sonny, Ellen’s son. Tonight it was stand-up comedy. Too funny, too. I laughed until I cried watching one guy – Steve Byrne. He was hilarious. I love anything that’s going to make me laugh, especially that hard. The laugh-until-you-wet-your-pants laughter is the best, the ultimate. Last night we watched a movie and earlier tonight we watched another. I like having a TV partner; it’s fun to be able to laugh with someone instead of laughing alone. Anyway, we finished watching and now I’m up here.

Sonny just asked me what I have on my agenda for tomorrow and I figure I’ll wake up. That would be a good start to any day. Other than that I don’t really have any plans. I can’t do too much until I get my letter from Social Services telling me what I’m entitled to from the government. When I get that I can go back to the schools to apply the kids for “Free and Reduced Lunch” and I can see what other services I can receive. I finished enrolling them in school yesterday and got the boys’ school supply list. Same shit, different town; but they’re enrolled and ready to start school on the 23rd. Anyway, until I get that Social Services letter, though, there really isn’t much for me to do during the day. This morning I did what little laundry I had so I don’t even have that to do.

I guess I’ll just make it up as I go along. Maybe I’ll find some more funny comedy to watch on TV. Then again, maybe I’ll just sit in the yard watching the birds fly overhead. I just don’t know at this point. You know what, I just had an idea. Maybe I’ll go to the library and get the kids and me a library card but now that I think about it I don’t think I can until they get back. I remember when I went to the library in Independence the lady told me I had to have the kids with me to get them cards. Did she honestly think I was making up three kids just to be able to steal books from the library? That would be ridiculous to my way of thinking, especially since I’d be the one going there to check out the books. DUH!! I’d be seen each time I arrived to check out more books so it’s not like I’d be stealing them and then hiding. I hope that makes sense because it did before it left my fingertips.

Whatever. I’ll find something to do tomorrow. I’m just glad I’m here and most of the administrative tasks are finished. My biggest item – and I know this is going to sound really déjà-vu-ish – is to get my van tagged. Remember, we went through this a couple of months ago. I remember. Poor Morrison; he’s going through so much and it’s not even his fault. This time it’ll be tougher on him though because the inspection process here in MD is a lot more extensive than it was in MO. He’ll be fine though; maybe he’ll need a few repairs but otherwise he’ll do great. I have faith. And it is going to cost me a couple of hundred dollars to get him tagged. I’ll save the money, though, and get it done. I have sixty days, so October 1st is when he has to be tagged. I’ll do it, I know I will; so you won’t have to hear me gripe about it for very long. I promise.

So that’s what I’ve been doing for the past couple of days. I can’t say that it’ll get any more exciting than that for a while but I’ll definitely try to make my posts more interesting. I know I get tired of repeating myself and I get tired of reading the same stuff over and over. I’ll try to give you a mix of whatever I might feel the urge to say. I’ll try to make you laugh, make you snarl, make you want to slap me; whatever it is, you’ll be satisfied. I have no doubt. I can’t do much more right now, though; I’ve run out of things to say.

Until next time…peace to all.

No comments:

Post a Comment